Blessings Abound

4 Feb

I’d like to dedicate this post to my parents. “Why?” you may ask. Well for many reasons – one of them being that they are just completely amazing and awesome 🙂  – but it’s my birthday today and I can’t think of any other two individuals who have helped shape and mold my life into what it is today apart from my parents. The grace, mercy, blessings, and even chastisement from the Lord have continued to refine me throughout my life ever since I gave my heart to Jesus but along with that the love, discipline, instruction, wisdom, and guidance I’ve received from my parents the past couple of decades have meant the world to me!

I look back at these past 29 years….(yes, can you believe?! I’m getting to be an old lady!)……and from a human standpoint my life has been full of good and bad but from a Christ-like understanding my life has been filled with the very best God has prepared  for me when I’ve walked uprightly before Him and the times when I’ve leaned according to my own understanding…well, it’s brought about hard and difficult lessons but lessons that have caused me to see more of the amazing attributes of my Saviour and have brought me into a more intimate relationship with Him.

I’m sure some are a bit shocked when they find out that I choose to live at home with my parents but you see the point is they are that incredible that I don’t mind in the least! Sure, I can move out and get my own little sweet apartment but then I wouldn’t be awed each and every day by seeing my father’s faithfulness reaching out to his wife, children, and church family. I wouldn’t be inspired when I see my mom reading her Bible and weeping before God in the mornings. I’d miss out on those touching moments when my dad’s gentleness blesses my heart and my mom’s immense generosity overwhelms me by the way she serves others. My parents exemplify a beautiful, loving, devoted marriage where each esteems and honors the other. I can only hope for a marriage as good as theirs! Of course, my parents would be the first to admit that they’ve made mistakes (like we all have) but I’ve seen them learn from mistakes and grow in wisdom along the way. I can testify that there’s a peaceful security still being under God-given authority and yet an excitement and wonder being responsible for your own decisions, plans, and events that come up in life as an adult. I see my parent’s respect for me and the choices I make and it touches my heart.

So in closing, I just want to praise God for giving me 29 amazing, wonderful years with a family that I love immensely and certainly don’t deserve! Being born into a Christian family has enriched my life beyond all that I can fathom. Being taught the ways of the Lord and encouraged to live a godly set-apart life has been endearing. My prayer is that I’ll just remain faithful and in love with Jesus till the day I die.

“Thanks Dad and Mom for being everything God has ordained you to be in my life as your daughter.”

“Thank you Jesus for never giving up on me and always calling me Your Love.”

Could I be any more blessed?! I THINK NOT – for God is good!

7 Responses to “Blessings Abound”

  1. hannahstelzl February 4, 2012 at 5:33 am #

    so sweet Sara! Happy Birthday!

  2. Sarah Stelzl February 4, 2012 at 9:15 am #

    Happy Birthday Sara! What a lovely post this is, and there is so much truth in what you said!!! Praise God for the blessing of family, and the wonderful things He teaches us through our parents every day. I just want to say, your love for the Lord is beautiful, radiating from your countenance =) Keep seeking Him with all of your heart in this new year!
    Love,
    Sarah

  3. Kendra Iorga February 4, 2012 at 1:15 pm #

    Happy Birthday Sara!! May the Lord continue to bless you in the years to come.

  4. April Oliva February 7, 2012 at 11:50 am #

    Happy Birthday again Sara!!!! What a wonderful post!! Your words touched my heart! 🙂

  5. Amelia Berry February 8, 2012 at 6:50 pm #

    Thank you, Sara. You always put so much passion into your writing. I enjoy reading your posts alot. I’m sorry I missed your birthday, but it sounds like it was blessed! Hopefully I can see you again, before we reach the other side!:)
    With Love,
    Amelia
    Berry

  6. Susan Roskos February 11, 2012 at 4:39 pm #

    Dear Sara,
    What a wonderful testimony for a young woman of God. I know your parents are equally blessed by your faithful stand against the modern culture and expectations for young people. You are an encouragement to all, young and old alike. Mrs. Roskos

  7. Carol February 13, 2012 at 7:16 pm #

    Hey Sara Nicole, I do believe it’s my “Southern-Wanta-Be” friend from times past (especially when the snow drifts were high and the temperatures were low!!!) Happy “Belated” Birthday, Sara! I enjoyed the Blessings Abound article; having praying parents who love The Lord Jesus is a blessing too awesome for words! Wasn’t it wonderful, too, that The Lord allowed you and Jimmy (and the other young lady)to spend all that time ministering together! Blessings I’m sure you and the other young lady will always treasure! I enjoyed your article about Jimmy. And – I can’t believe Anna is no longer a baby; I remember when she was born. Blessings of The Lord Jesus to you, Sara Nicole. Your website is warm, friendly and definitely reflects your heart of Love for our wonderful Lord Jesus!

Leave a Reply

