You NEVER Marry the Right Person

8 Jan

I came across this article the other day and thought it portrayed some very good thoughts and truths that singles can often forget as they “wait” for or (in a man’s case) “seek” after that ‘one and only’.

The article starts out by stressing that our culture misrepresents compatibility and we often put too high of an importance on making sure that man or woman fits into our criteria list. “For marriage, being [the enormous thing it is] means we are not the same person after we have entered it. The primary challenge of marriage is learning how to love and care for the stranger to whom you find yourself married.”

Head on over to Relevant Magazine and read the article for yourself! I don’t think you’ll be disappointed….maybe just a tad surprised!

3 Responses to “You NEVER Marry the Right Person”

  1. Robin January 9, 2012 at 10:35 am #

    SUCH a good article. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  2. Liz January 9, 2012 at 11:48 am #

    This is exactly right! Robin and I used to talk about how we knew if we just let God have His way in our marriage relationships (so long as the man was serving God) we could have good marriages to just about any man. Just as an example, arranged marriages are often looked down on for selfish reasons. But for a godly man and a godly woman, it is just another act of faith. 🙂

  3. Jubilena January 13, 2012 at 12:15 pm #

    Very interesting thoughts! I guess I haven’t ever really thought that someone would be Mr. Right in the Disney sense of the word, but instead trusted that God could put two together who would be right for each other. My husband’s imperfections, failings and everything, can be used of God in my life to make me more like Christ. So neither he nor I are perfect but I can see how God knew best and gave me a man who was perfect for me ~ even in all his imperfectness (the same goes for me with him). And I believe that it is my job as a wife to become his perfect fit. To make his life my life and to follow him: etc. I don’t know if I am making total sense…

Leave a Reply

