Talkin’ of His Goodness

22 Aug

This is a bit of a longer post so be prepared! 🙂  It’s an update on what’s been going on in my life – for those who like to keep up on the latest – haha!

I want to share these things as a praise to my Lord and Saviour. Without Him, I am nothing but with Him I am everything. I’m reminded of the verses in Psalm 52:8-9, “…I trust in the mercy of God for ever and ever. I will praise thee for ever, because THOU hast done it: and I will wait on thy name; for it is good before thy saints.” I want to give God the glory for what He has done and is continuing to do. I am humbled seeing my weakness and frailty. I know, without a doubt, that if it were up to me, my life would be a mess but because of His strength and His power within, I can live for Jesus and keep a song in my heart!

Life does bring changes. The past few weeks, I’ve come to some major crossroads that have left me in positions to make some big decisions. These decisions would effect not only my immediate situations but my future as well. Knowing that I was the one responsible for these choices terrified me. “What if I made the wrong one? What if I thought something was God’s will but it really wasn’t? What if I leaned on my own understanding instead of God’s wisdom? What if I really messed up?” These were thoughts that flooded my mind. I suffered through much agony of prayer and searching. My mind was stressed and my spirit was stretched.

I begged God to lead and direct. I claimed His promise of knowing that if I committed my way to Him, He would show me what to do. I put all my confidence in the fact that if I asked for wisdom, He would give it liberally. I had others praying with me too. I didn’t want to stand alone.

One of the choices I had to make was beyond hard and difficult. My heart was torn. I felt that if I took the way God was leading, I was closing doors of potential opportunities, future joys, and wonderful blessings. But despite how I “felt”, I knew that God knew best. He could see the whole picture when I couldn’t. I had to come to the conclusion to say “no”. I still may not understand the “why’s” of this decision, but there is a peace in my heart and a confidence that I know God will carry me through.

I was also given the opportunity to leave for a period of three months for a ministry opportunity. When I heard about the possibility, I was beyond thrilled. But as I sought God, I never attained a peace in my heart. I didn’t know if it was an unrest put there by God or if it was my own fear of the unknown. I finally couldn’t take the unrest any more and put out a three-day fleece before God. I needed His answer. The evening of the third day, another door pertaining to this opportunity was shut. So once again despite how seemingly “good” it seemed, God had different plans. I had to say “no” again.

But then something came. Actually, it seemed to fall out of heaven and land in my lap. My nannying job was nearing its end and I was wondering what my future was going to hold. I didn’t really want to just pick another job out of a newspaper listing – but maybe that was what I was going to have to do. I prayed, and prayed, and kept praying some more. I sent out applications and even set up interviews. And then God intervened. Out of the clear blue sky, a friend of ours called and mentioned an opportunity to work for a Christian woman. O my goodness! I couldn’t believe it. I didn’t even know the details of the job but in my heart I knew that this was of God. I submitted my resume and then waited to hear back. Days passed, then more days passed and nothing! My heart began to sink. Was God trying to prove something? Was I being tested? Did I need to keep applying for jobs? But then just at the moment I had almost given up all hope, the phone call came. An interview was set up. This time I said “yes”! And now here I am keeping happily occupied working as an Administrative Assistant for a Christian financial advisor!

It astounds me how God in His mercy provided more than I could have imagined just when I needed it. I couldn’t be happier because I’m reminded, again, that Jesus loves me. He shows me over and over again. He took care of me like He always has. He protected me from my own ways and led me in the way that He had prepared! I can’t help but be excited to see what’s in store in the forthcoming weeks.

Wouldn’t you agree with me that God is good?! 🙂 I want to encourage you to keep believing in the goodness of God. Even in the darkest and despairing of times, continue to trust, wait, and pray. We may not always get the answer we expected but if we submit ourselves to Jesus Christ – we’ll see that His way is always the best and His timing is always perfect! Keep encouraged! Keep focused! Keep faithful!

Well, I’ll sign off today with a few recent pics.

A picture taken on the day of Mom's bday! Blessed to have such a virtuous woman as a mother. She is beautiful inside and out!

Our little princess with her dolly

Just chilling with Auntie Sara! She's such a cutie!

3 Responses to “Talkin’ of His Goodness”

  1. Keriann August 23, 2011 at 9:42 am #

    Sara, Thank you for this post. We are going through some very hard and trying times right now, and it has been so hard to keep the faith. I am so blessed to be reminded of just how good God truly is and will be.

    • Elise August 23, 2011 at 11:25 am #

      Going through similar life-changing decisions myself and it’s so encouraging to hear of your happy “ending”. Blessings to you!

  2. Shannon August 23, 2011 at 6:28 pm #

    Aww, that’s so encouraging. Thanks, Sara!

Leave a Reply

