Dealing with Disappointment

4 Aug

Over the past year, I’ve been clinging to and depending whole-heartedly on a truth from God’s Word. It’s a truth and promise that I’ve known about for years. It’s a verse from the Old Testament that I had even memorized. However, God had recently made it real to me and ever since then, every situation in my life and every happiness and disappointment hangs on it.

The promise and truth for our Lord and Saviour is this: no good thing will he withhold from them that walk uprightly (Psalm 84:11b). 

You’ve read that verse before, right? We know it’s truth. We know God fulfills His Word. But what does this really mean?

Well, allow me to explain what God has shown me through this verse. I know that the Lord has purposes and plans for my life and future. I know that He has created me with a free will which gives me the liberty to make choices in my life. When it comes to choices, I believe that there is an ideal. The ideal choice would be God’s absolute best and then there are the less-ideal choices. These “less-ideal” choices may still be pleasing to God and bring Him glory but may lack the fullness of His peace, joy, and blessing.

Take notice that the verse does not read that He will withhold the BEST thing. So apparently, if we are pursuing after Christ and following Him in obedience, we know that without a shadow of a doubt we are already guaranteed the best in life. Here we are talking about just the “good” things in life.

Just think about it. Everything and anything that has the possibility of good in it, we will be given. It may not be the best or the most glorious but if it the situation has any good in it whatsoever, God will give it to us. So this means, that if we are not given the request of our lips or heart, there wasn’t an inkling of good in it at all.

Are you praying for a new car? Perhaps a different job? Are you looking for new friends or perhaps even wanting to start a romantic relationship with someone? Perhaps you’ve been praying about these things for days, weeks, or maybe even years and you haven’t been given your desire. It can be disheartening if we look at it from our own perspective. However, if we look at it from God’s perspective, it will give us the freedom to rejoice as we put our trust in God and believe that His way is best.

If we are praying about something, or hoping for something, or desiring something and our request isn’t being met, we can rest in the fact that anything and everything that would come from it would be hurtful and/or useless to us, others, or our relationship with Christ. Because that thing, which we thought would be so good, is actually harmful to us.

So next time we are disappointed or let down because of hopes being unfulfilled, let’s rejoice in the fact that God cares so much for us that He is keeping us from anything and everything that would be harmful, hurtful, and non-beneficial. He wants the good and best for us and if we stay focused on Him and yield our hearts and members to Him, He will unfold manifold blessings upon our lives that will bring abundant joy, peace that passeth all understanding, and a confidence in Him that will deepen through all of life’s circumstances and trials.

Our God is good. He is wonderful. He is the Giver of all good and perfect gifts. He loves you and He loves me and He is going to forever be faithful to His Word and to those that put their trust in Him. Remember this verse: “For I know the thoughts that I think towards you, saith the Lord, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.”

6 Responses to “Dealing with Disappointment”

  1. Aleita Kowalchuk August 4, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

    Thank you Sara for this wonderful reminder! I have been encouraged! Blessings on you!!

  2. cypress1948 August 5, 2011 at 7:57 am #

    A really great post. I also have been disapointed in ilfe and discouraged. Yet I end up praying and seeking The Lord even after making wrong choises. I still get blessed ! Even when I do not deserve it!!!

  3. Tricia August 5, 2011 at 9:42 am #

    Very well said Sara. God is good ALL the time!

    The LORD thy God in the midst of thee is mighty; he will save, he will rejoice over thee with joy; he will rest in his love, he will joy over thee with singing. (Zephaniah 3:17 )

    The LORD hath appeared of old unto me, saying, Yea, I have loved thee with an everlasting love: therefore with lovingkindness have I drawn thee. (Jeremiah 31:3)

    Love you!

  4. April August 7, 2011 at 6:36 pm #

    I am reminded of the times that we have spoke on this very subject and once again your words have spoken to my heart! Thank you for sharing Sara!! love you 🙂

  5. Hannah August 8, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

    This was a blessing to read. Thanks for honestly sharing your heart Sara! I needed to read this!

  6. elianna m August 12, 2011 at 2:16 pm #

    Sara ~ I read this the other night when I _really_ needed it and just cried thinking about how good God is! I opened your blog because I knew you’d have something encouraging from His word… and through you, He blessed me more than words can say.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

