Pondering

27 Jul

I’m sitting here in my dimly-lit bedroom checking my emails, looking over blogs, and reminiscing over the events of the day. It was a good day. I feel blessed. I feel at peace. I feel happy. But at the same time, it was a different day filled with many emotions.

First off, I had to deal with a screaming kiddo who wanted his own way. He didn’t want to eat his banana or toast for bfast. I didn’t feel like fighting so I didn’t push. Now, if it was my kid….it would have been a completely different story! 😉  haha!  Anyway, moving off that point…..I wanted to keep the day busy so I told little G that we would do a photo shoot. She could get dressed up all fancy and smile to her heart’s content – just like a real princess.
While in the process of set-up a ceramic figure fell on my head and broke. Oh the pain! I have a huge goozer on my head which brought on quite the headache. Then if that wasn’t enough, plans of horseback riding with a dear friend were cancelled which was greatly disappointing. And then to top off the evening, the ticket that I was going to book sky-rocketed in price! Am I disappointed?! Of course. I’m human and have feelings. However, it’s what I do with my feelings that shows the state of my heart. I could allow all this to bring discouragement or I can choose to put all my confidence, trust, and dependence in Christ alone and believe that all this was and is ordained of God, it’s all going to work towards my good, and this is a time that I can look to Him to continue leading and guiding me in His ways. God knew how much I could handle today. So I can sit back, hang on and enjoy the ride of life with all the twists, turns, ups, and downs! 🙂

Last night, I was reminded of my frailty in my pursuit after God and His righteousness. I spent the last two nights at the house of the family I have been working for. G wanted to sleep with me so before we went to bed, I read her a story and then we prayed. I shut the lights off and was so happy that the time had finally come when I could close my eyes and get the rest my body was so yearning for when I heard her little voice ask me if I could read my Bible to her. In a half-hearted tired voice, I told her “maybe tomorrow” but as I laid there I realized that I’m on a mission field. Two families with five children under one roof lost and without Christ. A little 5 year-old asking me to read my Bible to her……..how often does that happen?! I quickly hopped out of bed, turned the light on, opened my Bible and started reading Psalms. After one was read, she kept asking for more until she just about drifted to sleep. It ended up being a precious time and God even spoke to my heart through the verses that I needed to hear. I’m so thankful for the Lord’s love and goodness even during the times when I’m  dragging my feet and not running after Him with all my heart! Ah, I have so much to learn for sure! Life has been and continues to be an adventure. I’m just wondering what tomorrow will hold! 🙂

2 Responses to “Pondering”

  1. Rebekah E. July 28, 2011 at 7:36 am #

    So encouraging, thank you for the post!

  2. cypress1948 July 29, 2011 at 8:37 am #

    This was a beautiful post! Thanks Sara! Also, blog picture is very becomming.

Leave a Reply

