Lousy Days

29 Apr

Have you ever woke up from a great night of rest thinking it was going to be just a superb day only to be drastically disappointed? Well, it was one of those days for me today.

I woke up well-rested and headed off to the gym in the early hours of the morning. I enjoyed a fantastic workout and came home as chipper as ever. I got ready to head off to work, chatting and laughing with my parents in between. I really assumed that it was going to be a fabulous Friday.

But then it all changed – it all began to crumble – it all became overwhelming. First off, it started with an unintentional hurtful remark from a friend. It felt like a sucker punch yet they had no idea of the effect that their remark had on me. I fell to my knees and just cried my heart out to the Lord. I knew He knew and He understood. I got up with renewed strength and was ready to push through the rest of the day with joy in my heart. But despite my hopefulness, everything just seemed to get worse by the minute. There was such stress, aggravation, and disappointment  – I thought for sure I was going to snap. I didn’t know if I felt like yelling, crying, or just hiding in a corner somewhere.

By mid-afternoon when my body and mind felt completely fried, I received an unexpected blessing from the Lord. I was reminded once again how much my Saviour loves me and cares for me. He didn’t have to bless me but I think He did just to let me know that everything was under His control – He knew about it.

This evening, I went for a bike ride. I pedaled and pedaled against the wind burning off some “steam”…. I think the fresh air gave me an extra boost of energy. As I listened to my iPod, a song by Chris Tomlin came on and I started to sing between my panting. 🙂 These words spoke to me the most:

“My God, my Saviour has ransomed me

And like a flood His mercy reigns

Unending love, Amazing grace”

As I listened to those words, I was looking at the Susquehanna River whose banks are overflowing due to all the rainfall we’ve received. It was a picture to me of how God’s love and grace over floods my heart. It gushes over and He is completely all I need and more than I need.

Even when I do experience those “lousy” days – I can take confidence that nothing escapes my Lord’s watchful eye. Everything gets His “ok” before it even happens so I can thank Him for His goodness and push on with His strength and joy while experiencing His peace that passeth all understanding!

So, if you’re having one of those days, keep encouraged! The God of the Universe loves you and cares for you more than you could ever imagine! He desires your best and will perform His best in you if you continue to follow His will and listen to His voice!

Can you say with me? "There's Sunshine in my Soul Today!"

4 Responses to “Lousy Days”

  1. Elise April 29, 2011 at 8:31 pm #

    What an excellent piece of writing! I love your resolution, inwardly and outwardly – the rolling of your burden on the LORD. I had the opposite day yesterday, it began full of concern and despair, but as I sought to encourage and thank others, I came upon a little cherry tree in peak bloom, at the back of a big building, sandwiched between the wall of the building and a large storage container…an unlikely place for such a beautiful tree. Despite it’s circumstances, it was rejoicing and blossoming as it was designed to do…it really encouraged me, so I brought home two small sprigs and painted them…memories of unexpected surprises only He can bring in our lives! May He continue to encourage your heart. Thanks for encouraging mine!

  2. tiffmartens April 29, 2011 at 8:45 pm #

    thanks for sharing. God’s love and grace has a way of keeping life in perspective. ~tif

  3. Allen P. April 29, 2011 at 9:25 pm #

    Thanks for the encouragement, Sara. I had a similar day – started off pretty well, but then I had 2 hours wasted in the middle of the day. I was so upset. But God is faithful!

    God bless.

  4. cypress1948 April 30, 2011 at 4:35 pm #

    WOW! You have faith !

Leave a Reply

