God Knows – God Sees

25 Jan

Life has been very, very busy for me here in Northeastern PA! My days are filled with getting up before the crack of dawn to work out at the gym, spending time with Jesus, keeping in touch with friends, working full-time, pushing myself to excel to the next levels on the Wii Fit Plus (haha), special get-togethers, and just crashing at night ready to do it all over again the next day!

As I’m helping take care of 5 children, there’s a special bond forming between me and my primary responsibility…..a little blond-haired boy with big brown eyes and a head full of curls. Autism may present a challenge during parts of the day but when he reaches over and squeezes me showing his love or giggles till he can’t stop – those are the moments that are priceless and rewarding. Thoses are the moments that I can thank the Lord that He’s given me a little life that I can love and help. Sure, I may end up with spaghetti sauce splattered all over my sweatshirt or a black and blue knee from playing with the kiddos but it’s all worth it in the long run! God gave me this opportunity when I wasn’t even looking for it and He’s given me grace, joy, and love to share that can only come from Him.

You may have noticed that I did not return to Chicago since my return from Beijing. Well, that’s because God had different plans for this time and season in my life. During my time in China, the Lord began to strongly impress upon my heart that a chapter was closing in my life and a new one was opening. It was time to return home. I didn’t know why and I didn’t exactly see a reason to but my heart felt unspeakable peace. I will admit that this decision was a bit scary for me – after all, I was leaving a beautiful suburb of Chicago, a cool/fun job, my dear and special friends, a ministry that provided awesome opportunities, and teaching that continually encouraged my heart to walk in truth.

But when God says “move” – I want to be sure that I obey. I’ve seen Him work in mighty ways and I want Him to continually direct my steps. I desire to be in the center of His will, obeying Him, and loving Him with all of my heart. I constantly see my weaknesses but I know that if I keep a thankful heart and look for the goodness of God in every area of my life, it will keep me from becoming discouraged or discontented. I know God loves me and I love Him.Β I walk this road by faith alone. I don’t know what the next step will be; but right now, I know it’s here with my family.

Lord willing, I will be heading to Chicago this coming weekend to pack up my belongings. I will be traveling the 12+ hours in my SUV so if the Lord brings me to your mind, I would certainly appreciate your prayers. It will be a long trip – but thank goodness for close to 2,000 song titles downloaded to my iPhone. πŸ™‚

It will be a bitter/sweet time as I see my friends but know that our ways are parting. I hope to spend close to a week sorting, packing, and spending time with those who I’ve come to share so much of my life with before returning home.

So there you have it – another update in the life of Sara. πŸ™‚ I certainly would covet your prayers. I can do nothing right in and of myself but I know that through Jesus I am victorious! Knowing that my brothers and sisters in the Lord are bringing me before the throne of grace absolutely strengthens my heart!

I trust the Lord is blessing you in abundant way and that your heart is rejoicing in His goodness and grace! He is ever so worthy of our praise and adoration. Soli Deo Gloria!

9 Responses to “God Knows – God Sees”

  1. Jennifer Lavin January 25, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

    God bless you, Sarah! I read this verse tonight – Let the morning bring me word of Your unfailing love, for I have put my trust in You. Show me the way I should go, for to You I entrust my life. ~Psalm 143:8. May the Lord continue to direct you in His paths! you are a blessing to many!!

  2. Amelia Berry January 25, 2011 at 10:47 pm #

    Sara,
    Thank you so much for your example in your walk with Christ! I cherish your sweet friendship with me.:)
    Please give my hello’s to all of our Chicago friends. I will be thinking and praying for you as you travel there! I hope you have a fun time! God bless you.
    ~Amelia

  3. Nate Paine January 25, 2011 at 11:03 pm #

    Sara,
    I will be praying for your trip down…although I guess I will miss you being here in FL 😦 But I know that that will be an awesome time at HQ! God bless you and thanks for being sensitive and obedient to His promptings; demonstrating to others a Christ like example!!!!!! God bless You and keep us posted ;D

  4. Rebecca January 26, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

    Thanks for the update. I was wondering if you were moving back to Chicago-land. Have a safe trip!!

  5. Joanna Noel January 26, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

    Love reading your blog! I just need to get better at commenting! I guess its just so diffrent on wordpress then what im used to on Blogspot!
    Sounds like life has been fun! I know what you mean, sometime your life changes so fast, and you just have to be willing to pick up and go!
    XOXO

  6. April Olivia January 26, 2011 at 5:33 pm #

    I will be praying for you as you go to Chicago and back Sara!
    p.s road trips are so much fun!! πŸ™‚ I hope you have a great time!

  7. Shannon January 27, 2011 at 3:39 pm #

    I’m so happy you’re coming to Chicago!!! We will do our best to make it a very special time for you, even though Nate is not here. 😦
    Thank you for the encouraging post – I’m am so happy to watch you continually walk with the Lord and follow His leading, even though it may often be hard.
    Looking forward to seeing you soon!!!

  8. Sharia January 28, 2011 at 2:33 pm #

    Sara, good job making choices that may not always be easy, or recognized by others as being the best use of your “ministry” potential. In the end, you are responsible for following what God is telling you to do… and in the end, you will stand before God about your obedience to Him in your life… no one else has that responsibilty. It is wise, of course, to get counsel from older Godly people… but you are the one that are responsible for the choice you make… Keep on in Him. Be strong in the Lord! Love you, and will be praying for you during this transition…

    Your friend in Alaska…
    Sharia

  9. Rachel January 28, 2011 at 11:06 pm #

    Safe travels!! God bless you for your sensitivity to the Spirit’s leading in your heart and your willingness to change as He directs.

Leave a Reply

