Learning Can Be Fun

27 Oct

Education is of utmost importance here in China. Even the primary grades are disciplined and are required to fill many high expectations. School begins around 7:30 in the morning each day and doesn’t end till about 7:00 in the evening. Just think about it. They eat breakfast, lunch, and dinner together; they take their naps together; they exercise together; they study together. There isn’t much time for fun and leisure, even on weekends. They come home with homework and take various classes and lessons on Saturday and Sunday. I saw a billboard at the bus stop just the other day that I think will give you a better idea of the Chinese culture. It read: “In Learning We Trust”. That statement can send a shutter down my spine. It reminds me of THE truth. If only I can impart, to the people around me, the realization that there is so much more to life and there is a “bigger reason” worth living for.

Anyway……who says that learning can’t be fun and bring enthusiasm?! πŸ™‚ Well, I certainly don’t and I make a point of trying to keep classes as enjoyable as I possibly can. Life is too short to learn things the long and boring way. So, if I can bring smiles and giggles to the faces of these kiddos while they learn different character qualities- hey, why not?!

Origami Fox finger puppet (corresponding with Discretion)

 

Lion Mask (corresponding with Truthfulness)

Kids always have a way of keeping class interesting πŸ™‚

3 Responses to “Learning Can Be Fun”

  1. Tricia October 27, 2010 at 8:26 am #

    I LOVE the finger puppets and the masks! Too cute!! You are doing such a great job Sara! Love you, Mom

  2. Nate October 27, 2010 at 7:00 pm #

    This is great!!!! LOL Keep it up Sara!!! πŸ˜€

  3. Jubilena October 28, 2010 at 7:31 am #

    Oh what fun! Keep up the good work, Sara! (I always love the hand-work part of school)

Leave a Reply

