Just Blogging….

20 Oct

I’m sitting here trying to keep as warm as possible without any heat in my room (Beijing has been experiencing some major lows recently) so I guess I’ll blog about some random things. If you don’t care about the ins and outs of my day, don’t worry a more interesting post will be coming, I’m sure. You can skip this one. Blogging is just helping me keep my mind on anything but how cold I am. šŸ™‚

Today was just one of those days that I had more time on my hands and it was great! 4 lessons were taught and the kids were so enthusiastic…..I couldn’t help but smile! You should have seen them making the Origami Fox finger puppet or playing BINGO! It was awesome and so enjoyable!

I biked home in the chilly weather and then had plenty of time to start and complete my character lesson for next week along with a secondary lesson for the grades I teach twice. Finished a little cleaning and grocery shopping and listened to some of my favorite music. Came home and cooked myself a little dinner.

Eating in Beijing is quite different than at home. If I don’t go to the school each day to have lunch and dinner, my eating options are limited especially if I feel like something other than Chinese. Yes, of course there is McDonald’s and KFC but when you want to eat at home, you really can’t be picky. There are times when I just yearn for a good panini; but here in Beijing, lunch meat isn’t something that is sold in just any grocery store. Many American products are unavailable and if you’re lucky enough to find some, more than likely it has a Chinese twist. For example, Lay’s Blueberry Flavored Potato Chips or Red Bean Yogurt. I have to go to the international market just to buy a little package of spaghetti sauce….and who in the world would ever pay $10 for a tiny box of American cereal?! šŸ™‚

So when you find dinner such as Roasted Beef Noodle that can be made in two seconds flat and tastes good, you count your blessings!

Tonight’s dinner…..chicken with tomatoes, green peppers, chili pepper, and seasonings. Now’s that as close to a good home-cooked meal as one can get with a single induction burner to cook on! šŸ™‚

In between teaching and preparing for lessons, there is always time to sneek in some good cultural fun! Last night proved to be one of the best!

5 Responses to “Just Blogging….”

  1. Nathan Marcello October 20, 2010 at 9:38 am #

    I think my body would go into shock with all the different foods I’ve never eaten before in Beijing.

  2. Liz October 20, 2010 at 2:42 pm #

    you need to come home and get some real food asap!!! blueberry flavored potato chips?!? really??? come on! i feel like sending you a care package with mac and cheese or something! can i do that???

  3. April Olivia October 23, 2010 at 8:20 pm #

    Wow, I hope that things warm up for you over there. Liz is right, we should have thought of sending you a care package!!! Love you!

  4. Vanessa October 26, 2010 at 12:11 pm #

    Just have to say, girls, the boots are awesome!! šŸ˜‰

  5. Shannon November 4, 2010 at 5:58 pm #

    Love the boots! ;-)Wish I could give you some cereal. Sheri hardly made it a week in Peru without it, so the last night there I bought her a box. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

