All Around Beijing

2 Oct

Two home stays down……two more to go! Two days spent with two boys and a girl, visiting two amazing places equals over 200 pictures! Don’t worry, I didn’t post that many! 🙂 The Chinese are so very gracious and loving and make me feel so welcome in their homes. I feel very honored and always leave with a smile on my face!

Visit #1: Spent with students White and his friend Scott. These two guys were fascinating! They had a ton of questions which made my visit interesting and fun! It was a bit different for me doing “boy” stuff…haha!…but we had a blast taking a walk in the park, feeding ducks, playing ball, making dumplings, playing table tennis, and visiting the Temple of Heaven!

Dumplings are a work of art! Mine didn’t look nearly half as good as everyone else’s but perhaps practice makes perfect.

White with his cousin Ted

Left to Right: Ted, Me, White, and Scott

Temple of Heaven

Are you ready for a good laugh???!!! 😉

Visit #2: Spent with Annie. Annie is a dear girl who made sure I felt comfortable and always happy! Her parents spent my entire visit trying to meet my every whim and desire, making sure I was never hungry, and taking both Annie and I to the Summer Palace! It was a gorgeous fall day and because Chinese are celebrating the National Day of China for the entire week, there were thousands upon thousands of people visiting!

The Summer Palace is enormous! I had no idea. One definitely needs to plan on spending a day or more to visit the entire property.

…just one of the staircases. We walked up what seemed like a ton of stairs and also hiked up a mountain! Needless to say, we were beyond exhausted but it felt good to exert our bodies so much – at least in my opinion!

Suzhou Street in the Summer Palace

A little authentic entertainment before leaving

3 Responses to “All Around Beijing”

  1. Shannon October 2, 2010 at 8:21 pm #

    Haha, great pictures Sara! An adventure, for sure!

  2. Blake Myers October 2, 2010 at 8:53 pm #

    Wow! What wonderful pictures! Haha! I love the ones in the Chinese garb.

  3. cypress1948 October 3, 2010 at 2:40 pm #

    They were great pictures! Thanks for posting them! Did you see anybody practicing Karate or Tai Chi ?

Leave a Reply

