It’s a Good Day

29 Sep

Well, today was the last day of school till next weekend. We will be celebrating the National Day of China this weekend and the following week! I will start my house visits with students tomorrow afternoon and continue till next Thursday evening! Certainly looking forward to some fun and exciting times ahead!

I feel so blessed. Yesterday was a joyful day for me and today was exceptional too! I’m very thankful esp since the past few days have been a bit hard on me and I also haven’t been feeling too good. Truth be told – when I woke up this morning and found out that my curling iron had died, it seemed like a dismal start of a day in the life of Sara! haha! You see, for the most part Asians do not curl their hair; therefore, curling irons are very, VERY hard to find and are quite expensive. However, after walking around for what seemed like forever and searching through different stores, I finally found one and now I’m quite relieved that I’ll feel like my “normal” self for the next two months! 😉

Plus, today I enjoyed some wonderful lessons with my kiddos, ate the most delicious banana-blueberry gelato crepe, enjoyed the best massage for only $6 USD (so totally worth it!), and purchased a ticket for the CHINA OPEN tennis tournament!

I was reading today and was inspired by this thought: “Thou shalt increase my greatness, and comfort me on every side.”  Isn’t that just a wonderful thought? – almost too good to be true! But it is! If you’re having a so-so day or your heart is a tad discouraged, take hope because He truly does desire your best more than you could ever imagine. He will do great things in our lives as long as we stay surrendered and are willing to follow wherever He may lead!

So yeah – as I look back, it was a pretty awesome day!

HAPPINESS! 🙂

This is what my classroom looks like


3 Responses to “It’s a Good Day”

  1. Arkraft September 29, 2010 at 10:59 am #

    Yay!!!!! Pictures of tickets to cool places in exotic countries make me HAPPY!!
    So thrilled for you, Sara – I enjoy keeping up with you – it’s like you’re sharing a little bit of China with the rest of us. =)

  2. Amelia Berry October 1, 2010 at 6:58 pm #

    Sara,
    Was thinking of you today!! Missing all my HQ friends! I’m glad you’re enjoying yourself in China. How awesome it is when the Lord gives you the desires of your heart!
    He’s still working on mine, and making “our” desires the same.:) Trials…..make people stronger in Him….That’s my desire right now. Thank you for posting positive! Glad you got a curling iron!;)

    Love,
    Amelia

  3. Carolee Schwaderer October 2, 2010 at 11:28 am #

    When we first came to the Canary Islands I made the mistake of thinking I would just pick up a curling iron over here so the electricity would be compatible–thinking they would be abundant and cheap like in the states, but the Spaniards don’t curl their hair with curling irons either–so I couldn’t find one. Learned my lesson the hard way!My hair looked awful the entire time ; )

Leave a Reply

