My Kiddos

9 Sep

I can’t express through written words the joy that I receive from these dear children, the love that I have for each one of them, and the pleasure it is to be able to teach them true character that will hopefully shape their lives forever.

This is the primary school that I either walk to (it takes about 45 minutes from my apartment) or ride my bike to each day of the week. The school has around 800 students. I teach thirteen classes per week and each class consists of about 30 students. The students are 10-12 years old.

They are very eager to learn. I encourage them to ask as many questions as they want and they most certainly do! 🙂  I’ve been asked if I’m married, how old I am, why I have “messy” hair (apparently, they’re not use to hair that is curled), how much I weigh (haha), if we have rules at home, if I can speak Chinese, why I think America is beautiful, etc.

This is my classroom. I’m thankful to have a computer to present slideshows as well as an overhead projector. The first class included a slideshow of pictures of my family and where I live. It was so cute to hear them “ooooh” and “aaaah” in unison. When they see pictures of my little niece and my little baby Sadie Joy – they squeal in delight! It’s so precious and makes me laugh!

This pic was taken during their PE time. All the students gather and exercise together.

Lining back up for class

As you can see, they get pretty excited to get their picture taken especially when they know I’m going to show my family!

5 Responses to “My Kiddos”

  1. Liz September 9, 2010 at 9:15 am #

    too stinkin’ cute! they’re adorable! you should tell them everyone at home LOVES to see pictures of them! 🙂

  2. Victoria September 9, 2010 at 12:09 pm #

    They are precious!! What a beautiful classroom and the school seems to be huge! I am assuming this is a government school, right?

  3. Blake Myers September 10, 2010 at 9:24 pm #

    Hey Sara! It looks like the kids love you, and you love the kids!:) Next time you talk to your mom, tell her I said “thank you” for keeping us updated on how you are doing. Praying for your safety, health, and wisdom, among other things. Make sure to take good care of yourself! -Blake R. Myers

  4. Carolee Schwaderer September 12, 2010 at 3:11 pm #

    Good to see you are doing well, enjoying your new assignment as a teacher! The school looks really nice, and the neighborhood too–much different than what I expected–not as crowded as I pictured in my mind. God bless!

  5. April September 14, 2010 at 12:17 am #

    Awwwwwwwww! Sara! Your kidos are sooooo cute! I love the pics of all of them!

Leave a Reply

