Ninhao!

4 Sep

Hello…..Ninhao my dear readers! I don’t even know where to begin!

First of all, I made it to Beijing, China after a flight from Philadelphia to Chicago and then a 13 hour flight from Chicago to China. It was a long flight but a good one. I sat, thought, slept, fidgeted, and tried to keep warm. At one point we flew over Siberia and the outside temp was -70!!!!! I opened my window only to see little ice crystals! haha!

By the time we arrived at our apartment complex, it was around midnight. My body, though very tired, felt like it was 12 noon (there is a 12 hour time difference from my home) so I used some time unpacking to try to wind down.

Everything has been new and different here. Everything from the food, the culture, the people, the language, the sights, the smells, the shopping – everything is quite the experience. The first few days, I think I was suffering from a bit of culture shock but as time continues to pass, I’m enjoying myself more and more and I believe I’m benefitting from the “thoughts” of my family and friends.

I’ve already met some of the students at the primary school and am so excited that I will be able to spend so much time with them these next three months! Please “think” of me as I greatly need wisdom and desire to find favour with all those that I spend my time with.

Today, we visited the Great Wall. It was such an amazing, phenomenal, unbelievable, and cool experience! I would have never thought that I would have had the privilege to be standing right there in the heart of China taking in the beautiful scenery from such a magnificent standpoint! I feel so blessed!

I was already given a Chinese name: Shi Sha Li. So, maybe I’ll fit in more easily – one can always hope for the best, right? πŸ™‚

Wishing you all joy and peace from China and back!

7 Responses to “Ninhao!”

  1. Lacey September 4, 2010 at 1:08 pm #

    Hey Sara! So glad to see you’ve made it!! I’ll be thinking of you! πŸ™‚

  2. Lacey September 4, 2010 at 1:09 pm #

    Hey Sara! Welcome to China! (Even though I’m not there!) So glad to see you’ve made it!! I’ll be thinking of you! πŸ™‚

  3. Amber Rogers September 4, 2010 at 7:57 pm #

    WOW!!!!!!! Sara standing on the wall!!!!!!!!! I love it. What an awesome experience. And the KFC. Too funny. What an awesome few months this is likely to be. Will be “thinking”
    of you lots!
    A

  4. April Olivia September 4, 2010 at 8:07 pm #

    WOW!!! Sara I can not belive you have been to the Great Wall of China!!! That is so amazing. You will be in my thoughts all the time! πŸ™‚ April!

  5. Robin September 7, 2010 at 9:53 am #

    Awesome pictures of you at the Great Wall! So cool! I’m glad you’re adjusting and enjoying your experiences there! Thinking of you lots!! Love ya!

  6. Nate Paine September 7, 2010 at 11:47 am #

    Sara!!!! These are great!!! Wow, I am so glad you have this opportunity and I pray that God will continue to use you mightily through it!….. JOY! πŸ™‚

  7. Liz September 8, 2010 at 9:36 am #

    Sara, these pictures are great! I’m glad your culture shock is passing and you’re getting used to some of what I would call “inconvenience”! lol! He is going to use you greatly. Love you and “thinking” of you all the time!

Leave a Reply

