Trusting….

7 Aug

Why is it that trusting is always so hard?! Why is waiting so hard? How come patience is one of those things that just doesn’t come naturally, at least for me? Am I alone here or do you struggle too when things end up looking bleak?

It’s so easy to react, jump to conclusions, give in to discouragement, and just complain.

Yesterday afternoon turned out to be one of those times – almost. It happened in a split second actually. I went downtown to drop off a visa application for one of our team members and the gal said that mine had come back! I was thrilled until the “bomb” fell – I had only been given one single-entry 30 day visa. WHAT?! I’m suppose to be in China teaching character for 3 months. I couldn’t argue; I couldn’t complain; I just had to accept the fact. It was a done deal.

My mind swirled in a thousand different directions. My heart sunk. My eyes filled with tears. I tried to remaine composed… that is until I got to the car. Then the flood of tears just came.

I wanted to doubt God’s goodness. How could he have given me a miracle, a dream come true, only to have it “jinxed”? At least that’s what it felt like.

But then through the Lord’s spirit and the encouragement and counsel of others – I remembered that God is in control. He does know all things. There is no need to doubt. There is no need to fear. It’s just another time of testing to wait and trust. God will come through for me – there’s no doubt in that. Yes, it may not be in a way I would have imagined or maybe even wanted  – but He’s faithful like that. He desires my best and I can trust the Lover of my Soul.

So today………I can put my hope in God waiting for yet another surprise! 🙂

5 Responses to “Trusting….”

  1. Ruthann August 7, 2010 at 11:00 am #

    Oh Sarah! You’re definitely not alone… :-)”Yes, it may not be in a way I would have imagined or maybe even wanted – but He’s faithful like that.” Amen! He sure is.

  2. April Olivia August 7, 2010 at 9:45 pm #

    Sara I will be praying for you! love you lots, April Olivia

  3. cypress1948 August 7, 2010 at 10:36 pm #

    Thats rough!! I’ll pray for you.

  4. Stephanie August 10, 2010 at 12:27 pm #

    You have the right attitude, Sara. Keep trusting the Lord!

  5. BSBT August 12, 2010 at 11:10 am #

    Do you have to get your visa for China from here?
    Last time we went over to Zambia, my Dad and I had our three year visas still, but the friend we had with us had to get one over there. He had to renew it every month because they only do month long ones now.
    Just a thought, but can you get one over there?
    I’m sure China would differ a bit in ways, but I’m not sure on what or how.
    Hope you enjoy your time there!
    I’m headed off to the Philippines the end of this year! 😀
    Blessings,
    Bethany Townsend

Leave a Reply

