How Can It Be?!

24 Jul

Well, I promised that I would tell you what God has done and brought about in the past week. It still seems so surreal and it’s still hard for me to wrap my mind around the thought – but one thing I know is that it’s true, it’s an open door, it’s a huge blessing, and it’s totally ordained by God.

I’ve been serving at IBLP for the past 1 1/2 years. Yes, sometimes I can’t even believe it’s been that long – or should I say that short. 🙂 Time certainly flies by. I’ve been blessed and privileged to experience first-hand the many workings of God in the lives of individuals, familes, and even nations. I’ve received Biblical truth and counseling and have grown and been stretched in ways I would have never anticipated. I’ve been so excited to have literally traveled the world and served alongside Mr. Gothard and amazing brothers and sisters in the Lord, who have come to mean a great deal to me. I’ve formed many deep friendships these past months and feel like I’ve gained true kindred spirits who mean more than the world to me!

To make a long story short, I’ve sensed for a time that the Lord was preparing me for the next step. Something was going to change, something new was going to come. I just didn’t know what that might be.

During my last visit home, I shared my thoughts and different heart matters with my parents. They encouraged me to pray and seek God’s will. As I prayed for God to make His will known, I was fearful in some respects. You see, I didn’t want to trust myself, I didn’t want to lean on my own understanding, and I most certainly didn’t want to make a wrong decision. Why couldn’t I just see the handwriting on the wall?

In some respects, God’s mighty hand did write on the wall of my heart and He made a decision for me. One evening, I called home and my parents asked me if I had looked into the opportunity of teaching character in Beijing, China. That’s right – you read correctly! Beijing, CHINA!!!! I was shocked – esp hearing this come from my parents. I said I would look into it further as I had already had a desire for this 3-month extended trip and knew that it was an amazing opportunity.

I filled out my application and waited. After talking to our International Director, I came to find out that the school board in China decided to have just two teachers and those teachers were already chosen. Knowing my desire, our director said he would look into it further. I was in anticipation. Various phone conversations were had with our correspondent who was working with the Chinese school.

As I would read during my morning devotions, so many verses would just leap off the pages relating about the goodness of God, and how he longs to give his children the desires of their hearts. Even Number 14:6 spoke to me, “If the LORD delight in us, then he will bring us into this land, and give it us; a land which floweth with milk and honey.” Finally after a week of intense praying and waiting, after a week of learning what it was to hope yet remain surrendered, and after a week of learning to trust in the Lord – I received the final word.

I had been accepted to be part of the team! God had granted my request! God had given me a dream-come-true! You see, when I was about 13 yrs old, the Lord placed in my heart a burden for the nation of China. I wanted to open my arms to the hurting and lonely children. I began learning the Chinese language, starting eating with chopsticks, and wanted to learn all I could about the culture. That door never opened and life moved on.

Life drastically changed for me over the course of the next several years. Now more than a decade later after many trials and tribulations, joys and surprises, tears and laughter, God in His love remembers that dream and awakens a passion within me. He looked down upon me showing me that He hasn’t forgotten me and lifts me up and calls me His own. This time by bringing me into a new and foreign land.  I feel like Joseph in some respects.

Visa Photo

This evening, my heart burst with delight and my face beamed as I talked with Mr. Gothard sharing all that Christ has brought about. He mentioned that He could sense a new delight within me. He smiled with me. He shared in my excitement. He prayed for me. I cannot help but realize that without this man of God in my life – I would not be the same. God has used him as a means of blessing in my life – I feel as if the flood gates of heaven have been pushed open and now my cup overflows!

I will be leaving for China the end of August and returning just before Christmas. I eagerly await the opportunity to invest in the lives of the children in Beijing! My heart sings: “How Can It Be? That God Would Love a Soul Like Me – Oh, How Can It Be?!”

Off to study...

14 Responses to “How Can It Be?!”

  1. laura July 24, 2010 at 5:09 pm #

    Yay!!!!whew…didn’t know if I could wait much longer. I had a feeling you had a big trip coming up. I am SOOOO happy for you. I have looked into/prayed about the possibility of China myself for quite some time now.Can’t wait to hear about it!

  2. Katie July 24, 2010 at 5:19 pm #

    YAYAY!!!! How excited.. may God bless you greatly through this trip.. I am kinda jealous 🙂 It’s been way to long since I have been on the field…

  3. Amber Rogers July 24, 2010 at 7:12 pm #

    A great delight, Sara!! What a joy to think you will soon be on your way to be involved with these children. We’ll be praying for your trip.
    A

  4. Rebecca July 24, 2010 at 8:29 pm #

    Wow!! Amazing! When do you leave?

  5. Blake Myers July 24, 2010 at 9:02 pm #

    Wow! You have quite the opportunity! I’ll be praying for you. Make sure to keep up updated on what all’s going on during your time in China. You’re welcome to send prayer requests if you want through FB or my e-mail.

  6. cypress1948 July 24, 2010 at 11:29 pm #

    Thats really cool!! praise the Lord! best of luck!! You ARE blessed!!

  7. Cindy July 25, 2010 at 6:40 am #

    Hi Sara, I’m so glad that you’re coming to China! welcome you to China!! lol

  8. Anna July 26, 2010 at 8:35 am #

    How exciting, Sara! I can just sense your joy and enthusiasm bubbling over! I can’t wait to read about what your life there is like. 🙂

  9. Jubilena July 26, 2010 at 9:31 am #

    Wow ~ how exciting! I have a feeling that you will learn even more than the children that you are reaching out to! May God bless you!

  10. April Olivia July 26, 2010 at 1:44 pm #

    YIPEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE. Sara I am sooooooooooooooo happy for you! I can not believe that you are going. I will be praying for you!

  11. arkraft July 26, 2010 at 8:36 pm #

    Sara I am THRILLED for you – I so am. I know what your heart wanted and the ache and longing – and I so appreciate the talks we had – it makes this wonderful news all more exciting for me!! I am so STOKED for you!!! Praise the Lord Jesus Christ for His infinite GOODNESS – He knows us so intimately and cherishes us – (omg I’m gonna cry) He just holds our hearts and our hands and guides us in His wise path – He is so faithful. I’m so disappointed you’re leaving “us”, but I know I’ll see you again, I’m sure. =) Love you, my little kindred spirit. =)

  12. Sally July 27, 2010 at 3:04 pm #

    Oh, what a wonderful blessing and opportunity!!! I cannot wait to see the pictures and hear your stories! God’s timing is so perfect, isn’t it???

    Blessings!

  13. Nicole L August 1, 2010 at 2:04 pm #

    Sara, I am so excited for you!
    God is so super great 🙂
    Hope the Chinese is coming along 😉

  14. Jennifer Lavin August 4, 2010 at 2:48 pm #

    This is exciting to read, Sara! Praise the Lord for His faithful goodness. May He continue to direct your paths and perfect all that concerns you! I know you will be such a bright light wherever He places you!

Leave a Reply

