Boredom

27 Jun

Oh boy – well, today I got up at 4:45 to catch an early flight back to Chicago. My dad was kind enough to take me, drag my luggage into the airport, and give me a goodbye kiss. I boarded the plane and shortly thereafter arrived in Detroit to board my connecting flight to Chicago. Well, we made it all the way to Indiana but due to bad weather conditions in Chicago, we had to circle overhead for what seemed like forever when you’re tired, sitting next to someone that you don’t know, and can’t get comfortable. 🙂 Then the pilot announced that we didn’t have enough fuel to proceed any further, so we had no choice but to turn back to Detroit.  Needless to say, groans, sighs, and a roll of eyes swept over the entire plane!

We had to walk to a different gate once de-boarded and stand in a super long line to rebook our flight. The next flight I was scheduled for would be a direct flight taking off at 5:20. Well, I had the whole afternoon to keep myself busy. Unfortunately the airport didn’t have free wifi but thank goodness for an iPhone and good reading material. I guess you always have to come prepared when you travel because you just never know and have to be absolutely flexible because anything can change at the drop of a hat.

I waited all afternoon, only to be informed that the flight would be delayed to 6:30, then 9:30, and now it’s 7:30 – but then again, the plane isn’t even here yet. So who knows! I’m just hoping that I’ll make it home sometime today but until then, I’ll keep busy watching the people go by, instant messaging my friends, listening to some great music, and remembering to smile because this will all be one big memory tomorrow – I hope! 🙂

4 Responses to “Boredom”

  1. Me:) June 27, 2010 at 5:47 pm #

    who knows maybe your happiness will bless someone in that airport today…thus perhaps leading to a chance to share the warmth of Jesus Christ 🙂

  2. david c. wilson June 27, 2010 at 7:24 pm #

    Sound a little rough!! However, I love flying in airplains! Then again I was sooo glad to get back to the U. S. of A.!! Everybody on board let out a “yea!” or something like it when the plain touched down in the New York airport!!

  3. April Olivia June 27, 2010 at 9:28 pm #

    Oh Sara, what a day you have had. I really hope that you have made it to Chicago and to your home! Hope you have a great week getting back into life! luv ya,
    April Olivia

  4. Anna June 28, 2010 at 8:23 am #

    Oh my… I can’t imagine how it would feel to be in the air ready to land, only to have to turn back and start all over! I saw on your Twitter that you had to spend the night in the airport, I think? Hopefully you make it safely to Chicago today. Let us know!

Leave a Reply

