Truly How Beautiful

20 Mar

As I entered a quiet, dark, candle-lit room, I heard the beautiful sound of “How Beautiful” sweetly playing:

“How Beautiful the hands that served

The Wine and the Bread and the sons of the earth

How beautiful the feet that walked

The long dusty roads and the hill to the cross

How Beautiful, how beautiful, how beautiful is the body of Christ.

How Beautiful the heart that bled

That took all my sin and bore it instead

How beautiful the tender eyes

That choose to forgive and never despise

How beautiful, how beautiful, how beautiful is the body of Christ.

How Beautiful the radiant bride

Who waits for her Groom with His light in her eyes

How Beautiful when humble hearts give

The fruit of pure lives so that others may live

How beautiful, how beautiful, how beautiful is the body of Christ.

I looked around and saw tables covered in white linen with a candle burning and glasses of grape juice with a plate of bread prepared for each couple that were attending the marriage conference. There was a life-size cross standing in the center of the front part of the meeting place.

Dozens of couples quietly entered the room, took a seat looking towards each other and spent time crying in each other’s arms, praying, and taking part in an unforgettable communion time.  As I looked around, I realized that the tears which were flowing were an outflow from years of hurt, sorrow, bitterness, and maybe even resentment. It was a beautiful thing to see couples embracing each other in forgiveness and love even though their hearts were filled with pain.

I was overcome with emotion. Tears flowed. It was a somber time. I looked up and saw the cross. I felt as if Jesus was calling me to Himself.

Below the cross, a room was filled with men and women weeping because of hurt, but  I knew that Jesus, who is the Lover of my soul, would never hurt me. Tears were flowing because of rejection and abuse, but Jesus would always cherish me. Hearts were full of distrust because of lies and hypocrisy but Jesus has always been the same yesterday, today, and forever. Hearts needy and desiring perfect love had only been disappointed but Jesus has always loved me just the way I needed it most. Hearts were simply broken by the ones who were the closest to them but Jesus who is the dearest and most precious has always kept me safe in the shadow of His wings.

The Lord Jesus Christ is the Blessed Redeemer. He is the Restorer of Life. He is the Giver of all good gifts. He is the Source of true Love, Joy, and Peace. He is ALL we need.

One Response to “Truly How Beautiful”

  1. Ruthann March 20, 2010 at 8:17 pm #

    Amen. Praise and glory to our Jesus!!!

Leave a Reply

