God is for YOU!

7 Mar

For Christmas, I was given “The One Year Bible”. For the past two months, I have been trying to keep up on reading all the assigned passages of the Old Testament, New Testament, Psalms, and Proverbs. For me, though, when something becomes a routine or necessity, I tend to lose my delight. I’m not saying that routine is bad – after all, it’s better to discipline ourselves in what is right than be negligent and avoid choosing the ‘better’ way.

But I knew I needed a break. I needed some juicy nuggets of truth to keep me going – I yearned for some rhemas from God’s Word. Last night, I decided I just wanted to read through and meditate on some psalms.

Well, the Lord certainly opened my eyes and blessed my heart giving me just what I needed. First, it was a confirmation of my Beloved’s kindness and mercy as I read “God is for me” (Psalm 56:9).

Just think about those four little words. They can sum up all of our questions in life. They can put all our fears to rest. They can comfort and soothe our souls. They can motivate us to go beyond ourselves and our limitations. They can speak love to our hearts. They show how God feels about me and you.

Jesus Christ is with us. He’s walking beside us. He’s behind us in all we do for His glory’s sake.

As I skimmed down the rest of the verses, my heart’s cry joined David as he exclaimed how he put his trust in the God that was for him and not against him. This meant that he put his expectation and his confidence in the Lord God Almighty. So why should he fear anything that man could do to him? All was in the control of the One who wanted the best for him.

Then I perused over to Psalm 73. I connected especially with verse 26. “My flesh and my heart faileth: but God is the strength of my heart, and my portion for ever.” Times of discouragement will come. Times of testing will feel overwhelming. Certain days will seem dark and despairing. But there’s hope. Even though our emotions can sometimes get the better of us, one things stands true. And it is that Jesus Christ is our strength that can keep us going when we feel like faltering and He is All that we ever need – nothing more, nothing less.

So as we run our race – sometimes jumping over the hurdles that life brings, maybe feeling the weariness in our bodies, or even experiencing shortness of breath – we can see that it is good to continually run after the Lord despite anything that would deter us. Each step taken is another step closer to Him and when we draw nearer to Him we experience an added fullness like never before. It is then that we can declare all His works and give testimony of His faithfulness in proving that He is for us and not against us! Glory be to Jesus Christ!

3 Responses to “God is for YOU!”

  1. Tricia March 8, 2010 at 9:05 am #

    Sara, Wow..this post had me returning also to the Psalms. What encouragement they bring. What hope they give. What truths to be remembered. Thanks for posting another thought-provoking entry. Love you! Mom

  2. cypress1948 March 9, 2010 at 12:32 am #

    Wow! Your post is so inspiring! Thanks for the encouragement!

  3. cypress1948 March 9, 2010 at 12:36 am #

    I just remembered I heard a song called “God is For Me”, a long time ago. It was mostly in Swedish, I believe.

Leave a Reply

