A Perfect Day

4 Feb

Yesterday wasn’t just special and memorable, it’s seemed absolutely perfect. Maybe because it was an extra special gift from God.

I took the day off of work and went to Moody Bible Institute with two very dear friends. Moody was holding special meetings for Founder’s Week in commemoration of D.L. Moody’s birthday. Among the many wonderful speakers, Nancy Leigh DeMoss was asked to come and share from her heart. I was thrilled!

My life has been so enriched by Nancy’s teaching throughout the years. But more significantly, my heart has been encouraged to remain faithful and true to Jesus Christ just by her Christ-like example. As a single woman of 51 years, her love for the Lord, dedication to Him, conservative lifestyle, and desire to serve others for His glory has given me a vision to genuinely ‘run after Christ’.

As I sat in on the morning session and then the afternoon question and answer times, I just kept smiling. I was so happy to be sitting there and soaking in all the wisdom and truth she shared. Then to top it off, I got to personally meet her, talk with her, and, of course, get my picture taken with her!

We headed out around 5 pm and then walked down the “wondrous” Michigan Avenue to have dinner at the Grand Luxe. Ah! It was picturesque! Overlooking the streets of Chicago in such a magnificent building in a plush velvet booth with mouth-watering food surrounded by friends I love – well, it was like the cherry on top the sundae!

God was, is, and always has been good! But yesterday, He was especially good and I’m just so very thankful!

Nancy praying over sweet Janny.

the Moody museum

Downtown Chicago in front of the Water Tower with Kezia!

Definitely one of my favorite restaurants now! ๐Ÿ™‚

10 Responses to “A Perfect Day”

  1. Ken Pierpont February 4, 2010 at 1:10 pm #

    God bless the school that D. L. Moody founded… How I love that place. I listened to Nancy’s talk on-line today. Powerful.

  2. Ruthann February 4, 2010 at 1:21 pm #

    That is so awesome that you got to meet her! And how beautiful that she was able to pray for Janny. So glad you all got to go!!!

  3. Tori February 4, 2010 at 1:28 pm #

    That sounds like an amazing day, Sara! Sounds like something I would have just loved….I’m so glad you had a wonderful time!

  4. Kirsten Dalton February 4, 2010 at 1:57 pm #

    What a wonderful day! Birthday blessings to you! ๐Ÿ™‚ ~Kirsten

  5. Lisa February 4, 2010 at 3:15 pm #

    I am SO THRILLED that you were able to have such a wonderful, encouraging day! We serve a great God who gives us those just because He knows and loves us!

  6. Stephanie February 4, 2010 at 3:43 pm #

    What a blessing to be able to meet Nancy! I’m glad your birthday was so special.

  7. Rebecca February 4, 2010 at 4:26 pm #

    Well, gathering from other commenters, I guess it was your birthday yesterday. Happy Birthday! I’m glad it was fabulous. I went to the Grand Luxe for the first time over the Christmas season and really enjoyed it, too!

  8. April Olivia February 4, 2010 at 7:45 pm #

    Wow Sara,
    How wonderful it must have been to meet Nancy Leigh DeMoss. Mom and I are reading her book, “Lies Young Women Belive”, she is defently an amazing woman and I love her book. I am so glad you had a wonderful day!!!!

  9. cypress1948 February 5, 2010 at 2:13 am #

    Well, Happy birthday Sara!! You are highly blessed by God!! I will contune to pray for the success of your book. Please pray that the Lord will direct me and my friend on our screenplay. We want it to be a Christian movie and promote Christian values as well as a success!! Sometimes the pain gets me down, but Istill pray to the Lord. Praise God!

  10. Amber Rogers February 6, 2010 at 7:59 pm #

    We were thinking of you on Thursday. Jimmy enjoyed a quiet Bday at home, no travelling. How nice you could visit with Nancy. A tremendous spirit, no doubt. I normally can not stand to listen to women speakers, but I just sense such a yielded spirit in her. Now it is time for Sam and I to have our day!!
    I suppose it won’t be as interesting as yours, but I shall enjoy all the little construction paper cards and grubby, wet nosed kisses!!
    Enjoy.
    Amber

Leave a Reply

