When Only God Notices

25 Jan

“This twenty years have I been with thee; thy ewes and thy she goats have not cast their young, and the rams of thy flock have I not eaten. That which was torn of beasts I brought not unto thee; I bare the loss of it; of my hand didst thou require it, whether stolen by day, or stolen by night. Thus I was; in the day the drought consumed me, and the frost by night; and my sleep departed from mine eyes. Thus have I been twenty years in thy house; I served thee fourteen years for thy two daughters, and six years for thy cattle: and thou hast changed my wages ten times.” Genesis 31:38-41

Jacob served Laban faithfully for twenty years. He worked hard taking a lot under the chin. He didn’t take anything of Laban’s unless it was given. If there was any loss, he chose to take it for Laban. He worked in the heat, the cold, and didn’t allow sleep to waste his productivity. Even though tricked and mistreated, he worked an additional seven years for the woman he loved. His wages were changed multiple times yet he didn’t complain. Jacob was faithful.

He could have easily grumbled and complained to Laban. He could have been demanding. He could have become bitter and resentful towards his father-in-law because he was taken advantage of. From a humanistic standpoint, he had every cause to be! But somehow someway through it all, he didn’t.

Do you ever feel like you continually give and give? Do you feel like others take advantage of your acts of goodness? Do you feel unappreciated and used?

All that we do on this earth should be done for Jesus Christ alone. We will be taken advantage of and we won’t always be thanked but if we have done it to the least of these, we have done it for Jesus Christ. If we have a heart of service to the Lord alone, it won’t bother us that our efforts seem to go unnoticed. It won’t matter to us because all we want in this life is to please Christ.

Christ is the One that sees our pittance of service and it is a sweet aroma to Him. He notices and it pleases Him. This is what makes Him smile. In the long run, that’s what should keep us motivated to serve others giving all that we can and never stopping. By blessing others, you ultimately serve Jesus Christ. Great is your reward in heaven!

3 Responses to “When Only God Notices”

  1. cypress1948 January 26, 2010 at 12:56 am #

    That was beautiful!! God rewarded his faithfulness. I found out today that a person I know who is taking a lot of medicine right now to be cured of a desease, found a book by a well known Christian leader That was about healing!! I told her that it was the Lord directing her to find it!!

  2. Tricia January 26, 2010 at 7:57 am #

    Yes, very, very true. How I need to be reminded of this! I love the Word of God and how it is so relevant for today. Thanks for the post, Sara!

  3. Rachel January 28, 2010 at 9:06 pm #

    Hi Sara…it’s probably about time I introduced myself. 🙂 I found your blog awhile ago through YLCF and rediscovered you through a friend’s blog more recently. I’ve enjoyed your writing and heart for the Lord. Thank you for this post especially! I always need a reminder that God notices and has a purpose for everything, no matter how insignificant or hard life can seem at times. God bless!

Leave a Reply

