A Blast from the Past

19 Jan

Yesterday was really crazy in some respects. I’m still quite amazed.

As I was at work, I was talking with my dear friend Shannon. We were discussing the Baptist church my family had previously attended when I was just five years old. I mentioned how I haven’t had the privilege of keeping in touch with some of my close friends from kindergarden. I started reflecting on the friendship I enjoyed with one special girl. She was just like a sister to me. Her name was Rebecca Gaus.

I related to Shannon that I had tried in every way to get in contact with her but never could. I would ask about Rebecca if I came across an old acquaintance and would think about her often. I always hoped our paths would cross but figured it was just a closed door. After all, I didn’t know where she was living, what had become of her life, or anything about her.

That very afternoon, I received a comment on my blog from a gal that I had found through the blogosphere a few weeks back. As I looked around her site and clicked her profile, I was a little surprised to see that her name was Rebecca Gaus and that she was a christian and a baptist. Intriqued, I left a comment on her blog asking if she had attended the same church years ago. She replied, “yes”. Getting a little excited in my heart, I wrote her an email trying to glean some more information. I still wasn’t sure if it was really her!

In a matter of moments, I heard back from her and it was indeed my very best friend from kindergarden! I was shocked and amazed and flabbergasted! After all these years, not only did the Lord bring her to me but I had been thinking and talking about her just hours previously! The Lord certainly works in mysterious ways!

I am so looking forward to catching up with her and hearing all the good that the Lord has done in her life! I have a good feeling that it’s going to be a re-kindling of a kindred spirit friendship!

You can see a picture of the two of us posted on her blog: My Bright Corner. This picture was taken on our kindergarden graduation day! Sweet memories!

Here’s a few more pictures my mom found in our old photo albums!

This was taken at my birthday party. I’m at the head of the table and Rebecca is to the left.

A school performance. Rebecca and I are to the right

Dress-up party: Rebecca is second from the right.

6 Responses to “A Blast from the Past”

  1. Rebecca January 19, 2010 at 5:54 pm #

    Awesome! I CANNOT find my other kindergarten pictures. I know they are somewhere; i just don’t know where. ๐Ÿ™‚ The bottom picture is the birthday party that I remember.

  2. Anne January 20, 2010 at 12:04 am #

    Aww, that’s so sweet! I just saw Rebecca when I was out at Fairhaven this past weekend:). What a small world!

  3. Robin January 20, 2010 at 9:53 am #

    Sara that’s so cool! ๐Ÿ™‚ And cute pictures! ๐Ÿ™‚ oh, and I like your heading. love ya!

  4. Tori January 20, 2010 at 11:36 am #

    That’s such a sweet story! I have been following both your and Rebecca’s blogs for quite a while now…I had no idea you two knew each other! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. cypress1948 January 27, 2010 at 1:06 am #

    Sara, Have you been to the planitarium there in Chicago? The muesiums are also good!! God made the stars and the planets!!

  6. Carolee Schwaderer January 27, 2010 at 4:35 am #

    What a small world. I wonder if she knows Hannah and Jenny (that is, if she is still at Fairhaven).

Leave a Reply

