Just a Hoppin’ in Chicago!

6 Jan

“What makes you irresistible is not how interesting you are but it’s how interested you are in hearing the heart of another person.” – Chris Hogan

Isn’t that such a great quote? I came across it as I was working today and it really blessed my heart. Communication is the life-blood of a relationship and a good relationship requires one to be a giver. May we always be givers sharing love with those around us and may we continually cultivate a listening heart that we might meet the needs of others and be a source of blessing in their lives!

Well, I’m back in Chicago. I got home on Sunday evening and was expecting the next few days to be calm and relaxing. I was certainly wrong in my assumption. 🙂  Work has been extremely busy the past three days but I’m finally all caught up. Since I was away for about two weeks visiting my family, I’ve been enjoying my past few evenings at home getting things accomplished. It’s such a good feeling to sit in a sparkling clean house with candles burning and knowing the laundry and ironing are done!

Christmas was such a special time spent with my family and friends. It was a blessing to be able to visit Ciocie in the nursing home and spend a good part of Christmas day and New Year’s day with her and my uncle. We are praising the Lord that she has made very good progress since the car accident and was released from the nursing home this past Monday.

I was very happy to be able to spend more time with my dad than I had anticipated over the holidays. He had a few days off of work which was great, in my opinion. Whether it was opening gifts on Christmas Eve, shopping with my mom, going out to breakfast with my dad, attending a Christmas performance with my brother and his girlfriend, visiting my very nauseous, pregnant sister-in-law, savoring some crunchy hot wings, or singing a solo in church – it was a very memorable holiday. I praise the Lord for His goodness and mercy that He has shown this past year!

I am certainly looking forward to all that the Lord is going to do this year 2010. I certainly don’t deserve His goodness but I know He is loving and kind and I trust that He will give me many opportunities to be able to serve Him and bring Him honor and glory.

As many of you know, I have had a burden to write a book to encourage young ladies to find Jesus Christ as their All-Sufficiency especially during their single years. Well as I have been writing on and off this past year, I have made much head-way by God’s grace. I believe it is almost finished and I am looking forward to including various testimonies from young ladies within the chapters of the book. I would certainly be appreciative of your prayers concerning this endeavor.

I trust the Lord will bless you this evening and that your heart will be full of overwhelming joy as you wake up tomorrow knowing that He is with you every step of the way and that His mercies are new every morning!

5 Responses to “Just a Hoppin’ in Chicago!”

  1. cypress1948 January 7, 2010 at 12:28 am #

    I listened to an edu. tv program tonight. Part of it was studying the subject of happiness. One point the program made was that human relations were important. ie, interconectedness with others ect. Sounded to me like they were talking about friends !! Well,I need to let them know that Jesus has already delt with the issue!! Jesus said that every body will know we are Christians by are love!! Christians like to talk about being “born again” into the family of God This is the ulltiment answer to this need!! When we love our fellow Christians and love our fellow humans, we become fully human. Our level of happness should go up!!! The kindom of God is not meat and drink, but “richinousness, pease and joy in the Holy Ghost”!! We can be heald through God’s love! To know we are loved and cared about can ive us the strength to go on. At least for me anyway. God is Love!!

  2. cypress1948 January 7, 2010 at 12:30 am #

    Me and a friend of mine want to make a Christian film. Please pray for us to do this and I will pray for you book!!

  3. Lisa January 8, 2010 at 2:09 pm #

    That quote is beautiful. I’m going to remember that!

  4. Anna January 11, 2010 at 3:59 pm #

    Thanks for your encouragement on my blog, Sara!

    I always enjoy reading your thoughts… I’m sure your book will be good. 🙂

  5. cypress1948 January 15, 2010 at 9:15 pm #

    Hello there! I have been praying for you and your book. You have hugh potential and abilities! God has blessed you greatly! On another subject, do you know anybody that wants to help us with the screenplay for our movie?

Leave a Reply

