Looking Back at 2009

30 Dec

This year has passed at an incredibly high rate of speed. It’s actually surprised me greatly! What a year it was! As I look back at the happenings of 2009, my heart is overwhelmed and even shocked by all that’s happened. It is true what Solomon said in Ecclesiastes: “no man can find out the work that God maketh from the beginning to the end”.

Many events have been wonderful and happy. For starters, my brother Thomas became engaged to my best friend and married her! (Love you, Robin!) My baby brother Stephen began a relationship with my dear, sweet friend Liz (love you too!) and they both are totally in love! Thomas and Robin announced that theyare expecting and now I am excitedly awaiting the day that I will become an aunt! I moved to Chicago and became involved in the ministry of IBLP. The Lord blessed me with the privilege of traveling to Romania and Mexico and various states in the US (an experience that I would have never dreamed of). I’ve met many new friends and have developed wonderful relationships with true kindred spirits: some that I can share heart to heart with, some I can share my most embarrassing moments with, some I can laugh with, some I can just sit in silence with, and some I can just give a hug to or sip a Starbucks with. All in all, no matter how deep the relationship may be, my life has been enriched and changed by each and every one.

Then there were moments in the history of my life and my family this year that were trying and full of sorrow. Times when I just wanted to scream out “Why me Lord?!” but I knew in my heart….”why not me?”. There were difficulties in relationships, friendships, and our church family that needed much prayer, guidance, and help. We experienced a death in the family, a bad car accident that put our loved ones health in great concern, health issues, and many trials that brought along tears and frustration. Most significantly to me was when my life seemed to crumble in pieces when my engagement broke off early in the year. My life seemed to come to an abrupt halt. It was the most difficult, heart-wrenching experience that I had ever gone through and, for the record, I have been through a lot in the past few years. 🙂

As I look back, I can’t help but see the hand of God. I have come to believe and put my confidence in the fact that God desires my best more than I even desire it myself and that ALL things DO work together for good. I have seen God’s love, care, and compassion in ways that I would have never known if all these events had never unfolded.

My life has been full of more joys than pains this past year. My days have been filled with more laughs than tears. For this, I am extremely grateful to the Lord.

I can remember the times of heartache and wallow in self-pity. I can remember hurtful words and choose to become bitter and resentful. However, I know God is bigger than my emotions. I know God is in control and I know God loves me. All in all, it’s been a wonderfully, blessed year! God has been so good!

So as I sit here, I choose to live for God! I choose to be a vessel fit for His service. I don’t know what this new year will bring. Knowing that I am a sinner and live in a fallen world only assures me that there will be more pain and trials; but knowing that I am a child of the Most High assures me that my Saviour delights in giving me my heart’s desires as I seek Him and follow His ways.

I’m not one to usually make new year’s resolutions but this year I have a few goals in mind. Most of them are insignificant in the whole scheme of things but one thing is needful and that

is to fall more completely in love with Jesus than ever before. I want to look back at this time next year and see that my relationship with the Lord has grown by leaps and bounds. I want to know more deeply my Saviour who has made this year so unforgettable.

I thank Him for His goodness and I thank you all for being a special part of my life. Whether you’ve been one to hear my heart, read my blog posts and keep updated on our family’s happenings, bathed our family in prayer, or just sat and sipped a white hot cocoa with me – thank you from the bottom of my heart. My life wouldn’t be the same without you!

May the Lord bless you this coming year and fill your heart with joy as you remain faithful to Him, faithful to His calling, and faithful to the very end. Happy New Year!

6 Responses to “Looking Back at 2009”

  1. Rebecca December 31, 2009 at 12:02 am #

    Awwwwwww……sweet! Thanks so much for finding my blog. I’m glad I found yours!!

  2. cypress1948 December 31, 2009 at 1:10 am #

    your writtings touched me heart at times. Sometimes I miss my family so much. One of my Christian friends tell me they are waiting for me. Sometimes I just want to go on and joine them. I have been praying and seeking the Lord some. I do enjoy reading your sights ects thanks

  3. Anna December 31, 2009 at 10:07 am #

    This is a great testimony of the Lord’s work in your life this year! It’s been a blessing to follow along via your blog. 🙂 Your picture is so pretty.

  4. Amber Rogers January 1, 2010 at 12:19 pm #

    There is nothing better than to be able to reflect upon a year of life, and see God’s hand in every detail. To honestly assess ourselves and look forward to the work that the Lord will continue to complete in our life. May the Lord be always before you, Sara, as you rejoice in His daily love and providence. Hope to see you sometime in 2010!

  5. cypress1948 January 2, 2010 at 2:11 am #

    I am glad that new life is comming into the world. I am going to have to trust in Romans 8:28. I messed up on the job. It could have had life and death consequences.. Luckly the Lord seems to have helped me in at least one aspect of it. However, I will have to face the judgements on Monday. I really wish I could go on sometimes to heaven. If I really knew that my family was actualy in heave waiting for me, then I could probbly face anything. At least without my friends Christian or otherwise, I dont think I could go on. I would have no reasion to. Praise God for Christian friends. I wanted to bring honor to my fathers name.(earthly), but possibly I have brought shame instead. At least I got an honorable discharge from the U.S. military. God has blessed me. I still dont under whythey all had to die though. PRAISE GOD.

  6. cypress1948 January 6, 2010 at 12:36 am #

    I believe you have ministered in a nursing home. Thats good! I used to work in the activity dept. of a nusing home for several years When people came and ministered there, it really helped to bless and encouragethe residents. They could use as much encouragement as they could get. I picked this up from an earler video post you seemed to do.
    On other subjects, I want to publicly proclaim that I believe in Jesus Christ!! I have been praying a lot lately. My faith has wavered a lot in the past. But just the last few days has shown that God can protect peopleand their mistakes. However, I still have many questions about things that happen in life. I dont understand I am the only one left alive and every one else had to die. However, My Christian friends keep telling me they are in heaven waiting for me. If this is true and I really knew it to be so, that would increadiable!! You are filled with the Love of Jesus!! and have beautiful contence about you!! One question you might ot want to answer on line: how do you feel about mennonite and amish women waring theur head coverings?

Leave a Reply

