I’ll Be Home for Christmas

21 Dec

I’m sitting here at the Milwaukee, Wisconsin airport waiting for my flight that’s delayed. It’s been a nigthmare and stressful past 24 hours. I had my ticket in hand, suitcase packed, and my heart so looking forward to being home yesterday evening but plans unfolded in a very different way than I had anticipated.

I arrived at the Chicago airport and stood in the longest line at the security check point only to end up finding out that my flight had been delayed due to very bad weather in Philly. Apparently, they received over 2 feet of snow and, of course, that changed everyone’s agenda! Then if that wasn’t bad enough, they soon announced that the flight had been cancelled. All of us passengers had to stand in line for about two hours to rebook a flight. My choice was to either fly out of Wisconsin tonight (taking the chance of delays) or wait until the 23rd. Well, our family celebrates on Christmas Eve and I certainly didn’t want to mess-up our traditional plans or expereience the heart-break of more delays or cancellations so close to Christmas.

So, here I am sitting in the airport just abiding my time. At least there’s free wifi and a talented pianist serenading us with some beautiful Christmas carols! My flight was delayed but the plane is in the air and we will take off tonight, Lord willing! I am thankful that God is giving me two wonderful weeks with my family over this holiday season. It’s hard to believe that over the course of 10 months, I’ve developed such wonderful, close-knit friendships with so many here in Illinois but I must admit that there’s nothing like the love of family.

I’m looking forward to walking through our door and seeing the Christmas tree all light up, seeing cookies in the cookie jar, smelling the beautiful aroma of simmering potpourri, cuddling my little Sadie, feeling the warmth from the love of my family, and cherishing every special moment as we talk, share, laugh, and celebrate the birthday of our King! It is the most wonderful time of the year!

Merry Christmas Everyone!

2 Responses to “I’ll Be Home for Christmas”

  1. Sally December 22, 2009 at 2:22 pm #

    Man,that really stinks!!! I am an on-time type of person so when stuff like that happens, it really throws me off! Glad you have a good and bright attitude about it all…enjoy your Christmas with your family and many blessings to you!!!

  2. April Olivia December 22, 2009 at 10:12 pm #

    I am so sorry to hear about all that you have gone trough to get home. I am so happy that you have finally arrived home safely and I can’t wait to see you!

Leave a Reply

