Would You Like Fries with That?

18 Nov

One of my friends sent me a really cute email a little while back. We seem to both share a common enjoyment for french fries and I couldn’t help but smile as I read her note. Enjoy, my readers!

“Do you know what I love the most? Of course you don’t, but I asked so I could tell you. I have to tell someone because it’s pressing down on my threadbare nerves. I love crispy, golden, French fries! There I said it. At Red Robbins, with any hamburger meal you order, you get a basket of bottomless fries. Yes that means all you can eat. How cool is that? That’s about the neatest thing in the world! (Apart from Jesus. Yeah, Jesus and fries have got to be the best ever!) These days I have developed a craving for fries on Sunday and it wasn’t this way until I came to the RCI.  Probably Flint atmosphere gives me a sodium deficiency.

Every Sunday when I start having this “fries craving”, I become determined to find the closest burger joint…or else! Most of my friends have picked up on this, and they know you don’t mess with Cristina when she hasn’t had her fries on Sunday! Whoever invented fries was brilliant. Guess who’s even more brilliant is the Creator of fries. Ok potatoes.

Bottomless fries remind me of something I’ve been thinking about this week. Unconditional love—it’s the ultimate weapon. God’s amazing love and mercy are the shock absorbers to life’s sometimes bumpy road. I saw that in China. All nations and all peoples are special objects of God’s love. I see it in Michigan. The world is more than ready to tolerate thieves and murderers than Christians who love the Lord. When you love others, you’re doing a powerful thing.

My Dad used to take me out for fries. He would then take me up on his knee; look in my big blue eyes and say, “Cristina I have a secret to tell you.”  My face would brighten up as I said, “A secret?!” Girls love secrets. That’s not an earth shattering revelation. Girls have always loved secrets. So I lean my ear in and Daddy whispers, “I love you.” A smile would spread across my face.

I still smile when I think of that. Now that I’ve come to school in Michigan, I have a heavenly Daddy to do the same thing. I recently read this phrase in a good book, “Put together all the tenderest love you know of, the deepest you have ever felt, and the strongest that has ever been poured out upon you, and heap upon it all the love of all the loving human hearts in the world, and then multiply it by infinity, and you will begin perhaps to have a faint glimpse of what the love of God is.” Wow. I love people because Jesus loves me.

Ok I take that back there are three greatest things in the world: Jesus, Daddys, and fries. In that order. Yes whoever invented fries was brilliant. Seeing them reminds me how much Jesus loves me!  I wonder if there’ll be bottomless fries in Heaven…”

One Response to “Would You Like Fries with That?”

  1. Jerusala November 18, 2009 at 10:55 pm #

    I like that!!! Thanks for posting it!

Leave a Reply

