Jesus Loves the Little Children

21 Jul

Last night was very precious. It was a night of stillness  – an evening spent under the canopy of God’s beautiful sky while the breeze blew as if reassuring us that the presence of God was very near.

 

For the past week, the hearts of those at IBLP have been grieving for a young married couple as they experienced the heartache of losing their firstborn child, a baby girl. The little girl was still being marvelously formed in her mother’s womb before the Lord called her into His arms. In just one month, she would have opened her eyes and been welcomed into the loving arms of her earthly daddy and mommy; but our precious Lord had a different plan. He called her to be with Him.

 

When I heard of the news, I was devastated and beyond disbelief. I felt helpless in wanting to reach out and comfort but could only pray – Pray that God’s grace would be overwhelming. I couldn’t wrap my mind around the thought and emotion of such a devastating and heart-breaking sorrow. 

 

Just days before, I saw her daddy beaming with delight showing me the ultrasound. Just days before, I listened as her mommy exclaimed the joy of feeling her kick and push. Just days before, I admired their enthusiasm as they were overjoyed with how beautiful their baby’s room was decorated. Just days before, I sensed their thankfulness to God for His good and perfect gift.

 

Then, I stood by the grave-sight as I watched her daddy bring the little white casket with a pink ribbon tied around and lay it on the ground. My heart melted. I watched as her parents stood before us and told us how grateful they were that we were there to share in the moment.

 

But what stood out to me the most was this couple’s love, confidence, and joy in the Lord. They continually praised the Lord for what He had given and what He had taken away. From the tone of their voice and the tears in their eyes, one could see how their hearts were breaking but at the same time we sensed their dependance and devotion to the Almighty God. 

 

I couldn’t help but think that if I had the faith that they expressed, the trust that they were grounded in, and the joy that beamed from their spirits, I would be a great woman of God. 

 

In the stillness of the moment, the breeze blew and it felt as if Christ Himself was walking among us. The sun started to beam through the clouds just before dusk fell and it seemed as if the Ever Faithful One was looking down from heaven and telling us that their little girl was forever happy and safe in the arms of Jesus.

 

Jesus loves the little children and bids them come to Him. 


5 Responses to “Jesus Loves the Little Children”

  1. Carolee Schwaderer July 22, 2009 at 4:58 am #

    Such a touching story. Nothing compares to the loss of a baby. When I lost a baby at 21 weeks, we had a small graveside service. It was a spot in the cemetery where many other babies had been buried, and our Jonathan was buried next to a few other babies from Old Paths. When we were singing a song about heaven, this beautiful little bird landed on the tree right next to us, and was singing the most beautiful song. It was if an angel from heaven had sent it to remind us that he was in heaven singing too. I will never forget that moment.

  2. Robin Parry July 22, 2009 at 11:01 am #

    Sara, I got chills as I read this. How sad and touching. But God’s grace and love does encompass and overwhelm us and He gives us peace beyond understanding. Thinking of them and praying for them. Love you!

  3. Jenna July 24, 2009 at 9:07 am #

    This is something that I cannot imagaine going through, but I know that the Lord gives grace to those who do. One of my best friend’s lost her litle girl at 27 weeks. It’s been a long journey. they will need your prayers for a long time to come!

  4. !April Olivia! July 25, 2009 at 8:27 pm #

    Sara, what a story, it is so touching and sad, I can’t imagin what I must be like going thru a time like this. I am keeping them in my prayers.
    love you,
    !April Olivia!

  5. !April Olivia! July 25, 2009 at 8:27 pm #

    I ment what IT must be like, sorry.

Leave a Reply

