God’s Wonderful Gift

4 Feb

This is a short post as I do not have much time to write. I wanted to just let you know what the Lord is doing and ask you all to pray for me. 

I have been going through some rough waters recently and have been seeking after God and pleading with Him to show me His way, fill my heart with His joy and peace, and to give me a future and a hope.

Just last night, I received a phone call from Mr. Bill Gothard from Institute in Basic Life Principles. Apparently, the Lord had laid a burden on his heart to call me up and offer to pay for my expenses to come out to the main headquarters in Oak Brook, IL and give me the privilege to disciple with him and serve at the ministry there in various ways. As I talked with him and my parents talked with him, we felt God’s unspeakable peace. My heart was immensely encouraged!

In all sincerity, I am dumb-founded. The verse that popped into my mind was “Thou God Seest Me.”  In the midst of my hardship and grief, the Lord took notice. He saw my tears; He heard my prayers! Praise be to His Name!

I packed my bags last night and am saying good-bye to my family this morning. I do not have a set date when I will be returning and have never been away from my family for such an extended amount of time. So, this will be rather difficult. However, we have great faith that “this is the Lord’s doing” and want to follow His lead. I greatly desire to be used of God while I’m there and accomplish wonderful things for His name alone. I am thrilled about this opportunity!

I will arrive in IL tonight and will be celebrating my birthday by enjoying a dinner with Mr. Gothard and some of the young people at headquarters. What a birthday to remember! What a special and unique gift from God!

I will try to keep you all updated as time and scheduling permits!

I covet your prayers – they mean so very, very much to me!

8 Responses to “God’s Wonderful Gift”

  1. Rebecca Serven February 4, 2009 at 10:55 am #

    Dear Sara,

    Just a note to say that I have been and will continue to pray for you. “But the path of the righteous is like the light of dawn, which shines brighter and brighter until full day.” (Proverbs 4). Our Heavenly Father’s plans are past our comprehension. He has promised they are for our blessing and good. He is faithful. Keep hoping in HIm.

    Resting in His joy,
    Rebecca Serven

  2. Jacqueline Bittner February 4, 2009 at 1:48 pm #

    Hi Sara,
    Just wanted to drop by and let you know that I’ll be praying for you!
    I know that the Lord has great blessings in store for you, your blog has been an encouragement to me, and I’m sure many others have been touched by it as well.
    Thank-You for your Godly example!
    May the love of Christ be with you today!
    Blessings to you,
    ~Jacqueline

  3. victoria February 4, 2009 at 2:27 pm #

    I’m so happy for you! Happy Birthday!

  4. Jennifer February 4, 2009 at 7:37 pm #

    That is great! I am so happy for you! My prayers will remain with you as you embark on this new journey and adventure! Isn’t God’s timing always perfect?

  5. Carolee Schwaderer February 5, 2009 at 10:24 am #

    I am excited to hear what the Lord has done, and look forward to hearing even more! Someday you will be able to look back on all this and see the guiding hand of our Great God! I always think of God’s promises about “the steps of a good man (and woman :))
    are ordered by the Lord.”
    Keep us posted!!

  6. Jade February 5, 2009 at 12:35 pm #

    Happy Birthday Sara!! And congratulations! I’m so excited for you=)

    Oh yeah, I tagged you!! You can get all the info over at my blog=)

  7. Manda February 5, 2009 at 8:29 pm #

    *sniff* *sniff* try to have fun w/out me sara!!! lol but honestly, God bless and enrich urself in Him! (: i love you

  8. !April Olivia! February 5, 2009 at 9:06 pm #

    My dear dear Sara,
    I just wanted to let you know how happy I am for you. What a great God we have and I know that He has a wonderful plan for your life. I shall miss you soooooo very much while you are gone but I know we shall see each other some time soon. Also happy birthday, I know it will be one to remember!! I am so grateful I was able to see you the day befor you left!!!
    I love you soooo much, and I pray that God bless’s you, guides you, and keeps you well and safe while you are so far away!!
    love,
    !April Olivia!

Leave a Reply

