Dealing with Hurts Pt. 3

11 Jan

A Special Truth to Be Remembered

My parents once wisely instructed me that in all accusations, you can always find a little bit of truth. Yes, we may be falsely accused at times, but we need to learn to humble ourselves before God and ask Him to search the intents of our heart. We need to depend solely on His wisdom and knowledge to decipher between truth and error. 

Even if we don’t want to admit our failure, it is our duty as a child of God to repent of that which we have been charged with if it is true and evidently seen in our lives. Yes, it may not be the primary cause or root of the actual problem, but we ought to walk with a clear conscience before God and man. Acts 24:16, “And herein do I exercise myself to have always a conscience void of offence toward God, and toward men.” We ought to strive to conduct ourselves in such a way that no evil can be said of us.

Walking by Faith

We know that hurts will continue to come this side of heaven. It won’t be until the judgement seat of Christ that all our tears will be finally wiped away. We will continue to feel the blows and effects of hurts and offences in this fallen world. However, we must remember that we are more than conquerors through him that loved us! No matter how deep the hurt or how great the offence, we have the power through Christ to forgive and forget and to love. If we take the seat of humility and try to learn from each hurtful situation, the mind of Christ will continually form within us. Instead of reacting, we ought to be asking ourselves: What can I learn from this hurtful situation? How can I grow as a Christian? In what way, can I change and become more like Christ? How have I hurt my offender? Have can I respond in a Christ-like way? 

We need to rely on the Lord every moment of every day for His grace and strength. If we don’t, we will fail and we can make the situation a million times worse. If we have a perfect heart toward Him and are seeking to be in fellowship one with another, it won’t be as easy to take up an offence or to be hurt. “Great peace have they which love thy law: and nothing shall offend them” (Ps. 119:165). We need to make the effort to be sincere and without offence by the power of God. All things are possible through Jesus Christ!

So, as we walk as a conqueror and good soldier of the cross, I encourage us to seek the Lord’s will and walk in the new man, laying aside the power of the flesh. We need to be on our knees desiring more of the Saviour, learning His true nature, and asking Him for His heavenly wisdom. “But the wisdom that is from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, and easy to be intreated, full of mercy and good fruits, without partiality, and without hypocrisy. And the fruit of righteousness is sown in peace of them that make peace.” James 3:17-18. Relying on the Saviour’s wisdom and responding in such a way that glorifies Him, we are guaranteed that peace will dominate over the hurtful situation.

Remember, no greater love hath been shown than when Jesus laid down His life, His all, and gave His love to us when we were His enemies crying out “Crucify Him!” We’ve been forgiven! Can we not do the same by the power of Christ within us?

5 Responses to “Dealing with Hurts Pt. 3”

  1. Hannah January 12, 2009 at 7:54 am #

    I know you may not know me, but I just had to let you know how helpful these 3 posts have been. My husband just lost his job do to the way the economy is and at first I was hurt, mad, angry at his boss, angry with God, it seemed like He didn’t care. Since then I have heard 4 messages on walking by faith and o how encouraging it is to know that God does love me and my husband and that he allows such things in our lives to help us walk closer to hiim and to trust him just a little more. On top of those messages I read your blog every day and i looked at it this morning and what a blessing it was to read yet again how much God loves me and wants me to walk in faith and trust him in everything. Thanks so much!

  2. Robin January 14, 2009 at 8:48 am #

    Sara, As I read these 3 posts, I thought of all you have endured and how in this new season of your life you have been so blessed with Will and your upcoming wedding! Being your friend these past years has allowed me to see the transforming power of God in our lives and how He brings us through the valleys and we come out stronger on the other side! Your love for Christ has been a constant source of encouragement and inspiration to me, and I don’t have words to express how happy I am for you and Will. To see how our all-knowing, all-loving God has brought you two together in His perfect timing and according to His perfect plan! I love you so much, my dearest friend and sister in Christ!! 🙂

  3. Jennifer January 25, 2009 at 3:01 pm #

    Hi Sara,

    I miss your posts! I know this may not be a good time for you so I don’t expect to hear much from you because it’s nice to have a break sometimes. But I wanted to let you know that I do miss hearing what you are doing. I am praying for you and I hope everything will be okay. Keep serving God!

    Your sister in Christ,
    Jennifer

  4. Melissa January 25, 2009 at 8:20 pm #

    Sara,

    Just wanted to say I am praying for you. Thanks for posting these posts. They have been a encouragment for me.

  5. Beth Anne January 27, 2009 at 3:39 pm #

    Sara, these post are very good and ecouraging. I don’t know what you are going through right now but God IS good all the time and he does all things well. Praying for you.

    Beth Anne

Leave a Reply

