Thanksgiving Day

27 Nov

This Thanksgiving was special in every respect, just like it is every year. Mom and I had a great time preparing, baking, and cooking the day before. We blasted the Christmas music and just worked our little fingers to the bone in hopes of making our Thanksgiving memorable and special for everyone. 🙂

A few of our relatives came over for our afternoon dinner. Everyone was in good spirits, encouraged, and just thanking the Lord for all that He had done this past year. We went around the table naming at least one thing we were thankful for and then we brought out the “little book”. In the little book, everyone’s requests and desires are written down and we review them the following year to see if the Lord blessed in that way or another. To our amazement, a lot of our requests and desires had come true! Once again after dinner, we filled the pages with our hopes and dreams.

Many things have transpired this past year: our family bought a home, Thomas and I both began a courtship, I became engaged, my brother graduated, and many other things. Ultimately, God has blesses us all beyond measure and our hearts are full of praise to Him! It’s been an amazing year – filled with joy and gladness, along with some sorrow and pain; but Christ has been with us through it all and we are overjoyed by His mercy and grace!

Here’s a few pics of our Thanksgiving:

Dad always has the “fun” job of carving the turkey

100_2377

Some fellowship time before the meal

100_2379

100_2380

Ready for our sparkling juice toast before the feast! 🙂

100_2382

100_2383

Fun and games

100_2389_2

100_2393

100_2391

6 Responses to “Thanksgiving Day”

  1. Anne November 27, 2008 at 8:21 pm #

    HA,I was waiting for the pics from thanksgiving!! I knew you would put them up….they are great. I LOVE THE ONE OF ONE OF YOUR GRANDMA!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂 Its the best!!! Im stuffed with turkey, sparkling juice,stuffing and of course, PUMPKIN PIE!! yum.The fam came over and it was such a blessing…all topped off with a walk around the lake. Glad you had a great day,luv ya

  2. Liz November 27, 2008 at 10:23 pm #

    wow that was fast work! lol! i love the pic of your grandma’s face with the jenga blocks falling over… priceless!!!

  3. Abby Martin November 27, 2008 at 11:41 pm #

    I’m glad to hear your family had a good Thanksgiving. 🙂 We actually are out of town staying w/ my grandparents (my dad’s side). We had Thanksgiving dinner w/ my grandparents, uncle and great aunt. My brother and his wife didn’t come w/ us this time, so they were missed. I really enjoy Thanksgiving and really like what it’s about. I have so much to be thankful for, beyond words can express! Happy Thanksgiving!

  4. Tori November 27, 2008 at 11:59 pm #

    Looks like a fun Thanksgiving! I like your “book” idea! 🙂

    My grandpa used to carve the turkey every year, but after he died two years ago, the “fun” job was passed down to my dad! Fun, fun! 🙂

  5. Arianna November 28, 2008 at 12:36 pm #

    Looks like you guys had a blast! My Thanksgiving wasn’t ideal since 3 family members were missing, but I have SOOO much to be thankful for, so I can’t complain! God is so good to us.

  6. Stephanie November 28, 2008 at 3:45 pm #

    Aww, thanks for sharing these pics Sara. It looks like you had a wonderful thanksgiving! I love the idea of the book that you write in each Thanksgiving. I’ll have to keep that one in mind for when (Lord willing!)I have my own family someday. 🙂

Leave a Reply

