The Blessedness of Friendship

24 Apr

Friendship seems as necessary an element of a comfortable existence in this world as fire and water, or even air itself. A man may drag along a miserable existence in proud solitary dignity, but his life is scarce life; it is nothing but an existence, the tree of life being stripped of the leaves of hope and the fruits of joy.

He who would be happy here must have friends; and he who would be happy hereafter, must, above all things, find a friend in the world to come, in the person of God, the Father of His people. – Written by Charles Spurgeon

6 Responses to “The Blessedness of Friendship”

  1. Abby Martin April 24, 2008 at 11:15 pm #

    I totally agree. 🙂 I’m so blessed with many friends, but the truest of friends and the most faithful is our Lord Jesus Christ…His friendship is one to cherish for eternity!

  2. Heather April 25, 2008 at 12:59 pm #

    Hello Sara! I visit here on occasion and love your new site, but I’m sorry to say that I have not commented in ages!

    I also posted about friendship recently! Friends are truly such a blessing, and I’m so glad that our Heavenly Father is the dearest one of all!

    Thank you for sharing these thoughts, and I hope our friendship may continue to grow in Him. Let’s stay in touch!

    Love in Christ,
    Heather

  3. kaysie April 25, 2008 at 7:47 pm #

    I am truly thankful for your friendship, Sara!
    Lovely thoughts!

  4. Lauren Christine April 26, 2008 at 6:50 pm #

    So true. I am so thankful for my “kindred spirits” I’ve found on the web (like you!)- but most thankful for the friendship I have found with our Heavenly Father.

  5. Lauren April 28, 2008 at 8:57 am #

    Friends really are a blessing for the Lord. I’m so thankful for the wonderful Christian friends who encourage me to live for my Saviour!

  6. Cattlemansdaughter April 28, 2008 at 3:33 pm #

    So true! Friends..make life such a beautiful journey!

    Glad I get to ‘know’ you! Pleae have a wonderful day in Jesus, Amy

Leave a Reply

