Taking a Stand for What is Right

12 Mar

I’m sure most, if not all, of you have heard how California has passed a law that forbids parents (without a teaching certificate) to homeschool their children. This is tragic and purely outrageous!

Thousands of families across the nation are taking a stand for the what is right by signing an appeal in hopes to revert this law. I would encourage you to stand along with them!

However, if this takes no effect, I fear that it will just be a matter of time until the same law will be established in other states across America.  Sadly, sometimes these heart-wrenching circumstances don’t ‘hit home’ until they affect us, our family, and friends.

Even though America has turned her back from God and has decided to live for herself, God is still on the throne! As a nation, we’ve made gods of ourselves and we will reap the consequences.

 The question is: What will be the consequences that our little ones will have to suffer? What will they have to reap because of our foolish mistakes?

 Would to God we get on our knees and cry out for His mercy and forgiveness. We are promised that

“If my people, which are called by my name shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.”

14 Responses to “Taking a Stand for What is Right”

  1. Tori March 12, 2008 at 9:15 am #

    This is such a scary thing! I can’t believe this is actually real – you’re right, it won’t actually hit home until it happens to us! We really need to pray! We have signed the petition…I hope and pray it will do some good!

  2. Vanessa March 12, 2008 at 9:45 am #

    I wanted you to know that you have been awarded the “Blogging with a Purpose” award, so check out my blog for details. 🙂

    (My “Sustaining Grace” blog at mysustaininggrace.blogspot.com)

  3. Lauren March 12, 2008 at 9:49 am #

    Isn’t this amazing? My parents homeschooled my brother and me successfully without teaching degrees (they both had college degrees)… I think the key is this: PARENTS CARE MORE than any teacher ever could.

    Someone needs to wake up! Here in FL, there are teachers in schools who aren’t even certified (granted, they are trying to rectify the situation). I signed the petition, and I’m sure my husband will later.

  4. Gracie March 12, 2008 at 10:10 am #

    I’m home schooled and if California passes a law usually New York follows them. I live in NY state, and i am scared that i may have to go back to a public school. I went for 5 years and my walk with God was absolutely nothing. Now that i am home schooled (for 2 years) God has blessed me in MANY ways. Its amazing what He does and how he changes things in your life. Hopefully NY wont follow this law because i only have 2 years left of Highschool YAY

  5. a heart of praise March 12, 2008 at 1:39 pm #

    This is truly sad to think about. May the Lord have mercy and grant that this might be reverted.

  6. kaysie March 12, 2008 at 2:51 pm #

    This is so shocking. I laid in bed last night thinking about what this country is coming to… and are we ready to stand up for what we believe in? I pray so.

  7. Vanessa March 13, 2008 at 4:28 pm #

    Amen! It is such a shame what has become of our country, I truly hope things change!

  8. lemons to lemonade March 14, 2008 at 4:32 pm #

    Families in other countries have been dealing with this for some time, and warning us that it was coming our way. HSLDA , http://www.hslda.org has some up to date info. on this case.

  9. Joanna March 15, 2008 at 12:04 pm #

    Hey! it’s not going too well…. I keep saying “I HAVE to work on it,” then putting all of 5 minutes into it… 😛 So, not great. 🙂 thanks for asking!

  10. !April Olivia! March 15, 2008 at 1:52 pm #

    I love that quote Sara, it was really what I needed today. Is that our Shawna(now Grace)?? I can’t belive it,
    she looks so cute in the picture!!!

  11. Maria Pauline March 15, 2008 at 8:22 pm #

    Freedom must be carefully guarded.

    I’m not sure on the status of Nebraska, Iowa has a raise compulsory attendance age bill out of committee and Minnesota has one that’s still in committee.

    How long until we fight not only compulsory attendance bills but also bills like this?

  12. Lauren Christine March 16, 2008 at 6:56 pm #

    I was just thinking today, I sure haven’t seen a blog post from Sara in a while! I guess I either missed the big move to wordpress… or forgot to bookmark it! Anyway, just wanted to pop in and say Hi! 🙂

  13. Abby Martin March 21, 2008 at 6:16 pm #

    So, they have passed it? I had heard that, but I kept thinking that I heard something about Arnold Schwarzenegger wasn’t for it? If you can enlighten me, I would very much appreciate it!

  14. Abby Martin March 21, 2008 at 6:16 pm #

    Oh, and Happy Easter to you too! =))

Leave a Reply

