Psalm 118

25 Feb

I found these facts on a friend’s blog and thought you might find it as interesting as I did!

Did you know…

1. Psalm 118 is the middle chapter of the entire Bible?
2. Before Psalm 118, Psalm 117 is the shortest chapter in the Bible?
3. After Psalm 118, Psalm 119 is the longest chapter in the Bible?
4. That there are 594 chapters each before and following Psalm 118?
5. That if you add up all the chapters except Psalm 118, you get a total of 1188 chapters?
6. And incidentally, 1188 or Psalm 118 verse 8 also happens to be the middle verse of the entire Bible?


The central verse should have a fairly important message don’t you think?

“It is better to trust in the Lord than to put

confidence in man.”

 

12 Responses to “Psalm 118”

  1. Tori R. February 25, 2008 at 12:00 pm #

    Wow! That is so neat! And that is so cool about that verse! 🙂

  2. Emily :) February 25, 2008 at 12:12 pm #

    I think you accidentally put the ninth verse. 🙂 The eight verse says: “It is better to in the LORD then to put confidence in man.” Psalm 118:8
    It’s also very interesting that LORD is the very center word of this verse as well! 🙂 Thank you for sharing! 🙂

  3. kaysie February 25, 2008 at 12:16 pm #

    That is AMAZING!
    At the very heart of the bible is the very heart of our life of faith – trusting in God rather than man…
    Thanks for sharing this!

  4. Sara Nicole February 25, 2008 at 1:23 pm #

    Oops…You’re right, Emily! 🙂 Thank you!

  5. Jenna February 25, 2008 at 1:43 pm #

    I have heard that before…I think I might steal it for mine! 🙂

  6. JoannaRenae February 25, 2008 at 2:31 pm #

    Whoa. That’s cool.
    That’s really really cool.

  7. Amber February 25, 2008 at 5:07 pm #

    Wow! That is very interesting!

  8. Connie February 25, 2008 at 9:25 pm #

    Not to throw too much cold water on fascinating trivia (in which I delight), this information is not fully accurate. Psalm 118:8-9 is the center of the Bible when counting verses, but not when counting chapters. Psalm 117 is the center chapter. A full explanation is available at: http://www.snopes.com/religion/center.asp

    No, I didn’t count it out myself. 🙂

  9. JoannaRenae February 26, 2008 at 6:54 pm #

    Hey Sara, I’ve linked to a blgo called “Feminine Espresso” from yours before, but now I can’t find it. Do you know which one it is, and could you send me the link? thanks!

  10. A Maiden Of Virtue February 26, 2008 at 9:48 pm #

    What a cool thing!

    I am loving the new look! I have been lurking for some time- would it be ok if I linked to your site from my site:
    http://oneofthebunch.wordpress.com ?

    Thanks!
    ~@~Courtney~@~

  11. A Maiden Of Virtue February 27, 2008 at 9:33 am #

    Thanks for your sweet comment on my site… I added you to my blogroll.

    I too would like to hear the Eden String Quartet in person one day-

    God bless!
    Courtney

  12. Margaret March 1, 2008 at 4:43 pm #

    Under southern skies had the same post a little while ago. God bless you sister. Sorry forgot to read the top.

Leave a Reply

