To Know How to Speak

8 Feb
“Let your speech be always with grace, seasoned with salt, that ye may know how ye ought to answer every man.” Colossians 4:6

Throughout the past, I had read this verse over and over again. I have memorized this verse and reviewed it again and again. Yet, this morning, as I was reading during my devotions – it jumped out at me.
Many times in my day to day routine of life, I have fallen short in my speech, much to my shame. I have used words that have hurt, offended, even caused dissention. But I realized that if my speech was always seasoned with the grace of God (like flesh is seasoned with salt), I would then know how to answer every man. Not only would it please and honour Christ but it would also bless and edify all those around me.


What is gracious speech? What does grace specifically mean?
First off, we understand that we are using this word in a figuratively spiritual way. So, it would be the divine influence upon the heart and its reflection in our life.
1. Our words would be acceptable to our Authority. These would be right, pure, holy, of good report, and so on.
2. Our words would be an added benefit to those with whom we are speaking. They would encourage, advise, and direct; ultimately in alignment with what the Word of God has taught us and commands.
3. Our words would be that of favour. Just as our Lord spoke with the religious leaders as a young boy and found favor with God and man – it shouldn’t have to be any different with us. We have the power and authority to live as Jesus. We have left off and forsaken the old man and are now renewed and living a life following in the steps of our Saviour. Yes, what we speak may often cause controversy – I understand that. The Word of God is controversial to that of the world and its followers. However, there is favour and wonder in the hearts of those that hear words of truth.
4. Our words will exuberate the joy of the Lord. His joy was placed in our hearts the instant we became His child. It ought to be as a deep well springing up within us that our words would have the base of joy and gladness, peace and contentment.
5. Our words ought to bring liberty to its hearers. If we are admonishing and encouraging and exhorting in the ways of the Lord, our words will be used as a stepping stone for the hearers to find liberty in Jesus Christ. Liberty to do that which is right and good; liberty to do that which pleases our Saviour; liberty to embrace Christ in and know Him more perfectly.
6. Our words will be thank-worthy. There will be times when our words will not always be well-received. Hearers do not always desire to hear the truth. Yet, down in their heart of hearts, they know it is right; they know it is for their own good, especially if it was spoken in love and reverence. Eventually, their hearts will be grateful if they are consecrated to their Lord. You may not ever experience the effect of their gratefulness but your reward and their thankfulness will be exhibited one day in glory.

Salt is a preservative. It is an antiseptic. It helps to destroy that which is harmful. So it is when our speech is seasoned with the grace of God. It will preserve it from becoming corrupted and will destroy that which is unbecoming and ungodly. When our speech comes under the authority of Jesus Christ, He can then fill us with His words so that we would know how to answer every man.

What freedom we then would experience committing our words to Jesus Christ and being dependent on His grace manifesting itself through us.

5 Responses to “To Know How to Speak”

  1. Follow In His Steps February 8, 2008 at 5:18 pm #

    Excellent post, Sara! The Lord has been working on my heart in this area and reading what you shared was an added encouragement and exhortation to me. Thank you so much!

    Sarah

  2. Under Southern Skies February 8, 2008 at 10:51 pm #

    Amen! By the way, your new blog look is so pretty, it reminds me that spring is nearly here. 🙂

  3. Cattlemans Daughter February 8, 2008 at 11:41 pm #

    Love the new look! 🙂 Looks beautiful just like you!!!

    Speech, I was just thinking about that a few minutes ago, and I too, fall short so often! I catch myself saying things that if I had thought the sentance through I would not have said it, and then it hurts others feelings. Thanks for re-enforcing the verse, and your thoughts on this important subject! 🙂

    ~ Amy

  4. Lemons To Lemonade February 9, 2008 at 12:45 pm #

    Great Post! If we could only keep our eyes on the goal. I have left a conversation many times saying “I wish I would have thought that through before I said it.” Thanks for the reminder.

  5. alabasterboxblog February 12, 2008 at 8:49 pm #

    What a convicting but also encouraging post, Sara. Speech is something I will struggle with my entire life, and I think I can never hear enough wisdom and admonition on the subject.

    I love this part you shared:

    Salt is a preservative. It is an antiseptic. It helps to destroy that which is harmful. So it is when our speech is seasoned with the grace of God. It will preserve it from becoming corrupted and will destroy that which is unbecoming and ungodly. When our speech comes under the authority of Jesus Christ, He can then fill us with His words so that we would know how to answer every man.

    That is beautiful! You write so well! 🙂
    Kaysie

Leave a Reply

