A Life Blessed Abundantly

4 Feb

Birthdays come and birthdays go; but they are here once a year. It’s a time of great celebration filled with joy, laughter, surprises! It is a time to remember all the blessings that the Lord has given over the course of so many years.

Today, marks my 25th birthday. As I sit here, I am utterly amazed at the Lord’s goodness and faithfulness to me. He has saved my soul from sin and I am a daughter of the King of Kings clothed in His righteousness and enjoying the precious freedom of being His child.

However, there is one other blessing that completely humbles me. That is the privilege of being called the daughter of my own beloved father and mother, Pastor Tom and Tricia Smith. Twenty-five years ago, they chose life as a blessed gift from God. They were excited to welcome a new life into this world and were eager to shape, mold, and love their child to follow in the footsteps of their Saviour, whom they decided to follow all the days of their life. They counted it a privilege to lay down their lives and tend to my needs – delighting in me.

I would have never experienced the hand of God in my life as I have up to this day had they chosen a life focused on themselves: a life of selfishness and personal pleasure. I would have missed out on so many blessings and the opportunity to serve my Lord and Saviour!

So as I celebrate my birthday today, I thank my God that He has been so very gracious to me and has loved me beyond comprehension; and I thank my dad and dear mother for their devotion, care, and love that they have lavished upon me. I am so undeserving of such kindness. My heart is overwhelmed and my spirit doth magnify my Saviour!

I love you Dad and Mom!!
Thank you for being such a faithful example to me!

17 Responses to “A Life Blessed Abundantly”

  1. Under Southern Skies February 4, 2008 at 11:08 pm #

    Happy 25th Birthday, Sara! I hope you are having a wonderful day, may the Lord richly bless you as you serve Him!

  2. A HEART OF PRAISE February 5, 2008 at 1:09 am #

    Happy Birthday Sara!!! I hope your day is filled with joy! My the Lord bless you!! 🙂

    ~Emily 🙂

  3. Lemons To Lemonade February 5, 2008 at 1:25 am #

    I hope you had a wonderful Birthday. Great post!! I pray that the Lord will continue to bless you in this coming year. Your thankful heart is a blessing. My birthday was on Feb.1.

  4. Anonymous February 5, 2008 at 2:40 am #

    Happy Birthday Sara!!!!!!!!!11
    I hope you have a great one,as today is the real day.!Had so much fun at your party yesterday, i hope you were blessed by it.
    Im so glad to have a friend like you.
    Anne 🙂
    ps:
    You should do a slide show of yesterday!!how fun would that be

  5. Stinnett Family February 5, 2008 at 3:39 am #

    Happy Birthday, dear Sara!! May you have much joy this coming year, growing in grace and deeper in the love of Jesus.
    ~Susan

  6. alabasterboxblog February 5, 2008 at 6:52 pm #

    Happy Birthday Sara!
    Sorry I am a day late, but I hope your day was filled with special blessings and memories.
    It is great to remember how blessed we are especially on our birthdays. The Lord is so good.

    Happy Birthday!
    Kaysie

  7. Becky February 5, 2008 at 7:12 pm #

    Happy Birthday Sara!! Wow! I couldn’t believe that we are about the same age…I will be 26 at the end of March. You just seem to have more figured out and together than I do at this point. I hope you had a wonderful birthday and God Bless another year for you!!

  8. Alison Roskos Treat February 5, 2008 at 8:09 pm #

    Happy Birthday one day late!
    Blessings,
    Alison

  9. Follow In His Steps February 5, 2008 at 8:38 pm #

    What a beautiful tribute to your parents, Sara. I, too, am so very grateful that the Lord has blessed me with the parents that I have.

    I hope that you had a wonderful birthday and enjoyed your time with your family. May the Lord bless and guide you in this coming year as you seek to serve Him.

    Sarah

  10. elianna February 5, 2008 at 9:06 pm #

    Happy Birthday Sara! You are a blessing.

  11. Jennifer February 5, 2008 at 9:12 pm #

    What a sweet post! Happy Birthday!

  12. Lauren Christine February 6, 2008 at 12:25 am #

    Happy, happy birthday!! May God bless you and make your 25th year an abundant one 🙂 Praise the Lord!

  13. Anne February 6, 2008 at 1:36 am #

    Happy Birthday Sara! Our birthdays are just a couple of days apart; I just turned 25 as well! Thank you for stopping by my blog ~ I will return to yours:o).

  14. Anonymous February 6, 2008 at 2:37 am #

    Amen! Happy Birthday, Sara! May the Lord richly bless you this year, and give you the desires of your heart as you delight in Him!!! What a testimony to the glory of God.
    Many, many birthday blessings!!!
    ~Kirsten 🙂

  15. lizzykristine February 6, 2008 at 7:32 pm #

    Happy birthday (though I’m a little late!) Sara!

    Thanks for dropping by my blog to introduce yourself. I enjoyed getting to ‘meet’ you by reading through your blog posts. 🙂

  16. Jenna February 6, 2008 at 7:40 pm #

    Your parents are such wonderful people! Happy Belated Birthday to you!

  17. Maria Pauline February 8, 2008 at 12:32 am #

    Happy Birthday Sara!! The grace of the Lord Jesus Christ be with your spirit.

    Maria Pauline

Leave a Reply

