In Memory of Vera

13 Dec

Testimony from August 5th, 2007:

I am thrilled to share that my dear friend, Vera Moyer, came to know the Lord as her personal Lord and Saviour today! My friend, Vera, is 93 years old and currently living in a nursing home. I first came to know Vera in August when our church went and held a Church service for the residents (which we do on the first Sunday of every month). She was taken back by the joy she saw through everyone’s faces and conduct. She couldn’t understand where that came from. When I explained that it was because Jesus lived in our hearts, she became very interested. She asked questions with an open heart and listened as I shared the truth with her. From that moment, she stole my heart.

Vera is the sweetest, kindest little lady that I am privileged to know. As I’ve been visiting with her throughout the weeks, it’s been refreshing to see her deep desire to understand what it is to repent of your sins and give Jesus your heart and life. This afternoon, after the service, my Dad and I spent some time with Vera and once again shared the truth of God’s Word. Her heart was open and seeking. When dad shared that Jesus died for her and her sins, she exclaimed, “that’s fantastic!”. What a blessing. It brought tears to my eyes when I heard her pour her heart out to the Lord with such simple child-like faith. No one knows and understands a heart like Jesus; but I heard a sincere heart-cry being offered up to the Lord. I thank and praise the Lord for not only saving Vera but blessing me with her friendship and now I can look forward to enjoying eternity with her!


Sadly, I have just found out that Vera has passed away and entered eternity. It was a blessing to know her and befriend her these brief months and I thank the Lord for the friendship He blessed us with! She will always hold a special place in my heart!

13 Responses to “In Memory of Vera”

  1. Anonymous December 13, 2007 at 2:43 am #

    sara,
    im so sorry about vera.but also very happy to know she came to know the lord.im thankful to ahve such a friend like you,with such a willing heart toward others.
    anne

  2. Amber December 13, 2007 at 2:54 am #

    Oh my goodness! What a precious story! It reminds me never to take a small thing like visiting the elderly for granted. God works in the hearts of people of all ages to see the need for Him. We can celebrate the fact that she is with her Creator!

  3. Lauren Christine December 13, 2007 at 4:24 am #

    That is a wonderful story. What a blessing to be used by the Lord in such a way! And what a joy to know that one day we will all meet together with our Saviour.

  4. Alison December 13, 2007 at 12:15 pm #

    What a beautiful story–brought tears to my eyes. Such a blessing that you were able to witness Vera’s acceptance of Christ. I know that brings comfort while you’re missing her.

  5. Leanne December 13, 2007 at 2:12 pm #

    Sara,
    that was a beautiful and amazing story! It was also an excellent reminder that it is NEVER too late…
    Thanks for sharing!
    Leanne

  6. Victoria December 13, 2007 at 3:43 pm #

    What a wonderful testimony – aren’t you glad we haven’t lived 93 years without Christ, but isn’t it wonderful that Christ waited for her for so long and just as willingly accepted her into His family? I’m sorry for your loss, but rejoice for Vera’s gain!

  7. Carolj December 13, 2007 at 4:27 pm #

    I’m so happy for Vera! She’s really HOME now. Lovely post. Thank you for being faithful and sharing with her.

  8. elianna December 13, 2007 at 4:58 pm #

    Thank you for that testimony Sara! It has given me encouragement for our nursing home ministry…one of our most faithful ladies (who used to be a church pianist & LOVED to move her fingers right along with mine! 🙂 just passed away recently. You’ve encouraged me to have faith that it’s not too late for all theses poor people!

  9. A HEART OF PRAISE December 13, 2007 at 8:38 pm #

    Praise the Lord for His goodness and saving grace! What a beautiful story! My the Lord continue to bless you as you seek to be a faithful witness for Him!

    ~Emily 🙂

  10. Cattlemans Daughter December 14, 2007 at 3:28 am #

    Thank you Sara for sharing with us and in so doing, blessing those of us who read it. You are blessed to be able to spend time with those “tresures”! Enjoy every moment with those sweet ladies that have so much wisdom, you never know if it could be your last. 🙂

  11. lajiemarie December 14, 2007 at 5:10 am #

    Oh, what a beautiful story, what a beautiful testimony!!!
    Priase God that you will see her again someday in glory!
    Precious in the sight of the Lord is the death of His saints

  12. Under Southern Skies December 14, 2007 at 2:55 pm #

    Praise the Lord! That was such a sweet, touching post.

  13. Anonymous January 1, 2008 at 10:52 pm #

    Sara,
    I am very sorry to hear of her death. I am sooo glad she came to know the Lord before she went.
    fondly,
    April Olivia

Leave a Reply

