Delicious Homemade Gumdrops!

15 Nov

I found this recipe a few weeks back and I was compelled to try it out! It was very easy to make and the best part is that they taste absolutely delicious! I thought I would share the recipe with you especially since the holidays are coming up!

I hope you’ll all let me know what you think!
Bon Apetit!
2-1/2 cups sugar, divided
1-1/3 cups applesauce
2 packages (3 ounces each) red or green gelatin
2 envelopes unflavored gelatin
1 teaspoon lemon juice
1. In a large saucepan, combine 2 cups sugar, applesauce, red or green gelatin, unflavored gelatin, and lemon juice: let stand for 1 minute. Bring to a boil over medium heat, stirring constantly. Boil for 1 minute. Immediately pour into a cold 11x7x2 inch pan coated with nonstick cooking spray. Refrigerate for 3 hours or until firm.
2. With a spatula, loosen gelatin from sides of pan. To remove, invert onto waxed paper. Using kitchen scissors or small sharp cookie cutters (I used a knife) dipped in hot water, cut into 1-inch squares or shapes.
3. Place on waxed paper. Dry at room temperature for about 8 hours or until slightly sticky. Roll in remaining sugar. Store in an airtight container.
Yield: about 1-3/4 pounds.
(I did not have a 11x7x2 inch pan. So I took a 13×9 and placed a tin foil mold about that size in the pan. The edges didn’t come out the greatest but it worked!)
Recipe: courtesy of “Taste of Home”
13 Responses to “Delicious Homemade Gumdrops!”

  1. Anonymous November 15, 2007 at 12:19 am #

    Too bad everyone can’t have the pleasure of tasting them like we did! They were so very scrumptious!! Light and full of flavor!! Way better than any gumdrops I have ever eaten!!!
    Mom

  2. Heather November 15, 2007 at 2:34 am #

    Oooh they do look scrumptious!! I must try the recipe. Thank you so much for sharing! Love, Heather

    P.S. I love the new look of your blog. Very festive ~ just perfect! 🙂

  3. Lauren Christine November 15, 2007 at 4:59 am #

    Ah, another recipe I want to try!!! 🙂 It looks yummy!

  4. Amber November 15, 2007 at 6:42 am #

    Oh fun! I am going to have to make some for the Christmas! Imagine red and green ones in a lovely glass bowl! Too fun! Thanks for the interesting recipe!

  5. Becky K November 15, 2007 at 11:58 am #

    Looks wonderful…will have to try it, especially since the recipe doesn’t sound too complicated! Hope you and your family are having a fabulous time together and can’t wait for your next entry.

  6. Under Southern Skies November 15, 2007 at 1:23 pm #

    They look SO yummy! I like the new look to your blog. 🙂

  7. anne r November 15, 2007 at 4:57 pm #

    yum yum, im gonna make them

  8. Morgan November 15, 2007 at 11:51 pm #

    Oh gumdrops!!! Those are my mom’s favorite candy…I may just have to try that recipe out…

  9. Lois November 16, 2007 at 3:34 am #

    The recipe looks good
    Thank you for the nice comment
    your pictures are great

  10. Miss Kelly & Miss Andrea November 16, 2007 at 6:07 pm #

    The picture sold me!

  11. Jennifer November 16, 2007 at 10:48 pm #

    They look delicious!
    By the way, I love the new look of your blog! It is so pretty and definatly feels like fall!

  12. A HEART OF PRAISE November 17, 2007 at 6:45 pm #

    I love interesting recipes like this!! They look wonderful!!! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sundance Moods Jewelry » Blog Archive » Gumdrops - February 9, 2009

    […] in full swing. My great accomplishment this past week was making homemade gumdrops! I found this post one day when I think I was looking for gummy bear recipes. It looked so simple that I had to try […]

Leave a Reply

