A Very Special Sunday!

14 Nov

We have really been enjoying having Thomas around! He’s been filling us in on the details of his basic training and having much fun relating so many interesting stories to us. I sometimes chuckle and sometimes gasp when I hear of all that Thomas did during those nine weeks: duct-taping and ironing the blankets on his bed so there would be no wrinkles for Saturday inspection, accidentally running through barbed wire, completing about 2,000 – 3,000 push ups/flutter-kicks per day, eating acorns during survival week, memorizing the whole book of 1 Peter, rock climbing and repelling, the list goes on and on.

However, Thomas is really looking forward to going back for more training if the Lord continues to lead in that direction. He will be home for the holidays – which is a great joy and blessing! The training will not begin until the beginning of next year, then he will be gone for a longer period of time. (*sniff* *sniff*)
Please continue to pray for Thomas, as well as my parents, as they are seeking the Lord’s will concerning this decision.
I’ve included a few pics from Sunday:
Mother and Son

A Family Shot

The dear Parry family made us this candy-bar card! It was the sweetest thing!

Happy 17th Birthday, Stephen! We love you!

Brother and Sister!

Yum, Yum!

8 Responses to “A Very Special Sunday!”

  1. A HEART OF PRAISE November 14, 2007 at 4:06 am #

    I love your new header and blog colors!! It’s so pretty! πŸ™‚

    What photo program did you use to make your header? I’ve been wanting to custom design my blog layout a little differently but I’m afraid I’m not very good at computers. πŸ™‚

    ~Emily πŸ™‚

  2. Becky K November 14, 2007 at 11:54 am #

    Will wholeheartedly agree with Emily – love the new background and header!! So wonderfully festive. I am pleased to hear that Thomas is relaying all his stories and knowing that the Lord was there to support and shelter him when he needed it. Also happy birthday to Stephen! My brother is his age so I totally relate to the baby brother thing. Hope you all continue having a wonderful and blessed family time, even more so with Thanksgiving next week.

  3. JoyFULWifeMom November 14, 2007 at 4:15 pm #

    What a lovely family!

  4. Heather November 15, 2007 at 2:44 am #

    How wonderful it must be to enjoy time with him again ~ and oh those stories!! I can see the laughing and the shock as well! He certainly must have such strength of heart and spirit.

    I will keep your family in much prayers as many things must be considered soon. It was a delight to meet some of your dear family yesterday!

    (Please tell Thomas I am strongly considering stealing his duct-tape trick for my own bed!) πŸ˜‰

    I love the pictures, dear friend! Just lovely!

  5. Heather November 15, 2007 at 2:45 am #

    I forgot to say ~ Happy belated birthday to Stephen!

  6. Jennifer November 16, 2007 at 10:50 pm #

    My mom made a candy card very similar to that one for our grandpa a few years ago. It was a lot of fun!
    I’m glad y’all are having fun with Thomas home!

  7. A HEART OF PRAISE November 17, 2007 at 10:11 pm #

    Thanks for your reply to my comment! πŸ™‚ I think I’ve finally figured it out. My sisters and I had fun trying out different designs yesterday and I think I finally found one that I like (after much experimenting). πŸ™‚

    Blessings in Christ,
    ~Emily πŸ™‚

  8. Jen November 20, 2007 at 3:50 am #

    The family picture came out so nice! I love it!

Leave a Reply

