A Rainy Friday

26 Oct

This afternoon proved to be a spectacular day despite the chilly winds and rain!
I was blessed to be able to give a harp program at a local Alzheimer’s Unit and Adult Day Care Center. The residents were so receptive and made my time with them absolutely amazing! Songs ranged from hymns to old-timey tunes to classical and others. To hear their sweet voices singing “Jesus Loves Me”, “God Bless America”, or “My Bonnie Lies Over the Ocean” was a special moment in time!
Mom captured these shots during the program:

“Now also when I am old and greyheaded, O God, forsake me now”.
Psalm 71:18
9 Responses to “A Rainy Friday”

  1. Anonymous October 27, 2007 at 12:23 am #

    We had a special time, didn’t we, Sara? To minister to these dear people, blessed us more than them. Praise the Lord for these opportunities He puts in our path.
    Mom

  2. Heather October 27, 2007 at 11:46 am #

    Oh, how dear the residents must be! I’m so glad you had the opportunity to visit with them.

    Many Blessings,

    Heather

  3. Under Southern Skies October 27, 2007 at 12:58 pm #

    You’re so blessed! I love harp music, but I don’t have aharp and it would probably be really hard to learn to play anyhow. I’m sure everyone you played for really enjoyed listening. πŸ™‚

  4. Anonymous October 27, 2007 at 5:47 pm #

    What a blessing to them! I would love to hear you play the harp someday, Sara. πŸ™‚
    ~Kirsten

  5. Rebekah S. October 27, 2007 at 8:21 pm #

    Oh how neat!! What a wonderful time you must have had! I wish I could play the harp!

  6. Rachel Marie October 27, 2007 at 8:46 pm #

    Aw, that’s sweet. πŸ™‚

  7. Heather October 27, 2007 at 9:35 pm #

    Please make a note of my new blog address. Have a wonderful weekend!

  8. A HEART OF PRAISE October 28, 2007 at 3:53 am #

    It’s wonderful that you can use your talent for God’s glory! πŸ™‚ I’m sure the residents were blessed! πŸ™‚

    I’ve always thought it would be so neat to learn to play the harp. I do have a lap harp that I enjoy playing, but it’s really nothing like the “real” thing. πŸ™‚ Do you play any other instruments?

    Blessings in Christ,
    ~Emily πŸ™‚

  9. Jacob October 29, 2007 at 3:30 am #

    I love many of the old hymns. Do you have any recordings of your harp music?

    Peace! –Jacob

Leave a Reply

