A Thought for the Day

11 Oct
Phil. 2:13, “For it is God which worketh in you both to will and to do of his good pleasure.”

What a blessed thought! What a relieving thought! I am reminded that I can do nothing in the power of my own flesh. Sure, I can attempt things only to miserably fail; I can achieve things that will have no lasting reward; but to have God’s power working in and through me to will and do of his good pleasure, that is what my life’s purpose truly is.
This does not mean, however, that I sit back and live my Christianity in a lackadaisical way -perhaps giving in to my every whim and fancy. Quite the opposite.
The verse proceeding this one states, “…work out your own salvation with fear and trembling.” I must take action to follow Christ but as I take action, Christ, in all His glory and majesty, immediately comes to my aid and gives me the strength to do all things through Him. He sees my willingness to follow Him no matter where He leads and He recognizes my utmost desire of wanting to please Him in all I say or do. He then graces me with the desire to complete His purpose so that He might perfect His will in me. This is wonderful! But it gets even better! Not only does He grace me with the desire to please Him but He then bestows the power to do it. Nothing is too hard, nothing is too overwhelming, nothing is too much when Jesus is given the room to work in and through me!
I’m so thankful for a Saviour who is always there for me every moment of every day. Aren’t you?

6 Responses to “A Thought for the Day”

  1. ~Bryant October 14, 2007 at 9:35 pm #

    Beautiful post! I thoroughly enjoyed reading it!

    I found your blog through my sister’s (A Spirit Inspired). I visit it occasionally to see if anyone’s commented, even though she seems to have abandoned her poor blog completely! 🙂

    We both play the harp, too! I love honoring the Lord and blessing others through my music!

  2. A HEART OF PRAISE October 15, 2007 at 1:57 am #

    Thank you so much for sharing! God is so good, praise His name that He hears us and cares for us!

    I found your blog through your comment on Bethany’s blog. 🙂

  3. Under Southern Skies October 17, 2007 at 1:29 pm #

    The picture of the squirrel is adorable! Neat post.

  4. Rachel Marie October 19, 2007 at 3:07 am #

    Amen! Yes, I am thankful!!!
    Praise be to God for His ‘unspeakable’ gift! 🙂 Nothing is too hard, nothing is too overwhelming, nothing is too much when Jesus is given the room to work in and through me!
    Wow! How true!
    Great post… thanks for sharing these precious thoughts with us!!! 🙂

  5. Heather October 20, 2007 at 9:53 pm #

    What an exhorting post! Thank you for this, and the charming photograph as well. 🙂

  6. Jane October 29, 2007 at 5:35 pm #

    Wow thank you for this post it came timely indeed..I found the link to your blog through your comment on YLCF’s most recent post, i love YLCF and i’m starting to love your blog as well the pics are wonderful too!
    And your trust in Jesus and your love for Jesus is so apparent in your writings and musings :))
    That’s humbling for me indeed, i need to get closer to God myself and thanks so much for this wonderful post!
    For we can do nothing alone in our own power, But everything and Only through Him.
    He is the one that gives us strength thanks for that reminder!

    Take care…:)
    Blessings to you!

    P.S. If you’d like you can visit my own web site too, it’s a weight loss site but i have a lot of photos on there as well and i have poetry and miscellanous pics i’ve not updated since August, but plese do visit my web site..it’s

    http://www.freewebs.com/princess2222

    And please sign the guestbook as well!

    Take care,
    Blessings again!

    PTL (Praise the Lord)

    In Him, Jane.

Leave a Reply

