Caleb’s Testimony

30 Sep

As I was reading part of Joshua for my morning devotions a few days ago, I came across something that I hadn’t noticed before. Three times in seven verses, the testimony of Caleb’s faithfulness in that he wholly followed the Lord his God is recorded (Joshua 14:8,9,14) .
Now, we all know Caleb as one of the 10 spies that went to check out the Promised Land. It was a land of giants but yet a land flowing with milk and honey – a land God had promised them. He and Joshua alone came back and gave a good report to Israel. They were encouraged that the nation of Israel would be victorious and overtake the land that God had so provided. They had the faith to believe that if the Lord delighted in them, He would grant it to them. The other eight spies, however, came back with a report that caused the heart of the people to melt with fear, trepidation, and anguish.
With a heart of courage in the Lord and strengthened in His might alone, Caleb purposed in his heart that he would choose the right thing. He would wholly follow the Lord His God no matter what the others thought. If God had provided, he would accept; if God would grant victory, he would fight; if God would lead, he would follow.
Moses, the man of God, saw this in Caleb. He saw a man of valor not just outwardly but inwardly. Because of this, Moses sware to Caleb that the ground his feet had tread upon would not only be his inheritance but his children’s as well. “And Moses sware on that day, saying, Surely the land whereon thy feet have trodden shall be thine inheritance, and thy children’s for ever, because thou hast wholly followed the Lord my God.”
Do you see that because of Caleb’s faithfulness and trust in the Lord God Almighty, He prepared a way of blessing for his children? If he turned his heart away from his Lord or if he had been overcome with discouragement, disappointment, and fear not only would he have missed out on God’s abundant blessing but his children would have as well.
So this brings us to ask ourselves: are we being faithful to the Lord’s calling and direction in our lives? Have we purposed within our hearts that we will be victorious in Christ Jesus and wholly follow Him with all our hearts? Not only are our spiritual well-beings at stake and our futures but our children’s lives and their futures are at stake. The lives of children that aren’t even born yet. The lives of children that are within our loins. We have the power to prepare the way of blessing for them.
But are we given to ourselves and our flesh? Are we living a life of self-gratification or finding our pleasure in temporal things? My heart goes out to our children that will one day be held in our arms, if this is the case. We have crippled them already, even though it is unknowingly, by our failure of wholly following the Lord our God and preparing a way of blessing for them.
Would to God, we take our relationship with Jesus Christ and our spiritual walk with Him seriously. It is no light matter. Not only does it affect us and our spiritual growth but it affects those around us and very importantly our children that will come after us.
May God find us faithful and true; and may we continually purpose within ourselves that yes, we will wholly follow the Lord our God.

4 Responses to “Caleb’s Testimony”

  1. Robin September 30, 2007 at 7:20 pm #

    Just wanted to say how nice your blog looks…the new design and music…I know how hard you work on it! 🙂 And also that Caleb is one of my favorite people in the Bible, and I’m so glad you had this article on him! 🙂 Love you! Robin

  2. Lauren Christine October 1, 2007 at 1:35 am #

    I too like the new design 🙂 Caleb is a wonderful image of how God blesses children through parents’ faithfulness. I remember more than a few well meaning people often chose to try and discourage us from getting married when we knew it was the Lord’s will for our lives and had the proper parental and church approval. It reminds me a lot of when the other spies frightened the Hebrews with warnings of ‘giants in the land’. How sad it is!

  3. Anna Baltensperger October 3, 2007 at 3:17 am #

    Hello Sarah! You don’t know me, but I’m a friend of Rachel Garrison. (I’m one of her soon-to-be sister-in-laws actually!) Anyways, I saw your your frequent notes you’ve left on the healrachel blogsite over the past weeks. I clicked on your name, and up popped your blogger….so I read more about you and the many wonderful things the Lord has been teaching you. Reading your testimonies have been encouragement to me…especially the one of examples in the Bible who “Waited on the Lord.” (You also caught my eye because of your description of favorite books, favorite music, and your refreshing attitude towards your father and family.)

    I have not actually known Rachel all that long….only since June of this year. I remember my first impression thinking, “She is such a jewel…how did Ryan ever manage to find a jewel like her…especially through an online dating service?” Ofcourse I look back and believe it was God directing, but at first I was rather apprehensive at idea of using an online dating services for finding a mate…if you know what I mean!”

    Anyways, I’m curious of how you know Rachel. I’ve been slowly piecing together various friends of hers…like friends from the “His Mansion” ministry and the “Summit” ministry.

    I’m also curious if you’ve heard of Miracle Mountain Ranch. (since it says you live in PA and that’s in PA too.) I spent a year there after highschool at their apprenticeship program….2002-2003. I also met a family there with the last name, “Heagy”. The girls remind me of you…They were in the ATI program and…as I’m piecing together that you were also. (My family wasn’t in ATI, but I gratefully was able to still attend Indy Training Center for some music classes offered.)

    Feel no pressure to write me back, although I would love to hear from you. Unfortunately I haven’t ever started a blogsite. Anyways, my email is baltfamily@alltel.net

    In Christ,
    Anna Baltensperger

  4. Heather October 20, 2007 at 9:42 pm #

    Thank you so much for sharing these thoughts! Your blog is certainly a blessing.

Leave a Reply

