Pour Forth Your Heart

14 Aug

I am continually amazed at the realization that Christ is everything to us.

He, alone, can feel our deepest hurt.
He, alone, can meet our most hidden need.
He, alone, understands our thoughts.
He, alone, can impart His love like no one else.
He, alone, is ALL we need.


In my life, there are times when I am blessed to share my heart with others. The Lord wants us to share our hearts and provoke one another on to good works. But yet, at the same time, there is not a single soul who can understand me and help me like Jesus can. What a pleasure it is to be able to enter into His presence and pour out my soul to Him.

He sees my tears;
He hears my cry;
He is touched.
When I draw near to Him – He draws near to me. What a promise!
His presence is felt;
His joy swells within my heart;
His peace puts my worries and fears to rest;
His grace is bestowed.
What blessedness!
I came across this reading by Charles Spurgeon and was greatly encouraged:
“Endeavor to know the Father, bury your head in His bosom in deep repentance, and confess that you are not worthy to be called His son; receive the kiss of His love; let the ring which is the token of His eternal faithfulness be on your finger; sit at His table and let your heart make merry in His grace. Then press forward and seek to know much of the Son of God; know Him as eternal God, and yet suffering, finite man; follow Him as He walks the waters with the tread of deity, and as He sits upon the well in the weariness of humanity. Be not satisfied unless you know much of Jesus Christ as your Friend, your Brother, your Husband, your all.
Come, O Lord my God; my soul invites You earnestly, and waits for You eagerly. Come to me, O Jesus, my well beloved, and plant fresh flowers in my garden, such as I see blooming in such perfection in Your matchless character! Come, O my Father, who are the Husbandman, and deal with me in Your tenderness and prudence! Come, O Holy Spirit, and bedew my whole nature, as the herbs are now moistened with the evening dews. Oh, that God would speak to me! Speak, Lord, for Your servant hearts. Oh, that He would walk with me; I am ready to give up my whole heart and mind to Him. I am only asking what He delights to give.”

To realize our Saviour’s love is incomprehensible. We lack nothing. “The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.” We won’t be in need, following our great Shepherd. What security we can find as we follow Him.

Are we ready to give our entire heart to Him? Every chamber of our heart? We must not hold anything back. This is where true surrender lies. When we give our all than our Lord can have free course in our lives and make of us what would best bring Him honour and glory. “Finally, brethren pray for us, that the word of the Lord may have free course, and be glorified, even as it is with you:” (2 Thess. 3:1). We will be able to bring Him glory, praise, and adoration!

Oh, let us never forget to run to our Saviour, especially when our heart is heavy. He is waiting for us. He loves to hear His dear children pour out their heart to Him. This brings Him joy. Our prayers become a sweet incense to Him.

Always remember, He is all we need. He is our everything! Pour forth your heart to Him!

One Response to “Pour Forth Your Heart”

  1. Anonymous August 15, 2007 at 1:30 pm #

    Oh Sara, such a good post. HE IS everything to us. How amazing that with our sin, selfishness and waywardness we can still run to Him. “For He hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee” Heb 13:5 Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

